Search Results: "E. Lockhart"


BOOK REVIEW

WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 13, 2014

"Riveting, brutal and beautifully told. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A devastating tale of greed and secrets springs from the summer that tore Cady's life apart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: March 25, 2008

"A funny feminist manifesto that will delight the anti-Gossip Girl gang. (Fiction. YA)"
This cerebral and offbeat comedy of manners will appeal to fans of John Green's An Abundance of Katherines (2006). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 26, 2009

"Refreshingly honest. (Fiction. YA)"
Shunned by her friends and ignored by her ex, Ruby Oliver experiences a rough junior year as she deals with fallout from her previous adventure in The Boyfriend List (2005), when she kissed her best friend's boyfriend—a definite infraction of The Boy Book's rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"This thriller from the author of We Were Liars (2014) will challenge preconceptions about identity and keep readers guessing. (Suspense. 12-adult)"
Can Jule recognize her own true self within the tangled story of the past year? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAL LIVE BOYFRIENDS by E. Lockhart
FICTION
Released: Dec. 28, 2010

"Like, really recommended. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
The chronicle of the irrepressible Ruby Oliver continues in this fourth installment of her coming-of-age struggles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TREASURE MAP OF BOYS by E. Lockhart
Released: July 28, 2009

"As Ruby would say: complete and utter deliciousness. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
Ruby Oliver, the neurotic, lovable, and painfully believable heroine of two previous volumes (The Boyfriend List, 2005, and The Boy Book, 2006), returns. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOYFRIEND LIST by E. Lockhart
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 22, 2005

"Although the gimmick gets tedious and repetitious in spots, Lockhart shines at depicting the all-encompassing microcosm of school social life, and wisely eschews an unrealistically happy ending, instead offering hope and honest growth. (Fiction. 12-14)"
After being dumped by her boyfriend, rejected by her girlfriends and humiliated by her classmates, Ruby Oliver, a 15-year-old moderately popular girl turned pariah, reassesses her history and her actions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAMARAMA by E. Lockhart
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2007

"Exhilarating. (Fiction. YA)"
A star-struck girl plunges into the crazed world of summer drama camp and tries to cope with friends, love and jealousy in this intense romp through the world of musical theater. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLY ON THE WALL by E. Lockhart
ANIMALS
Released: March 14, 2006

"Fine fun for fans of both Kafka and Spiderman. (Fiction. YA)"
While many kids may feel ignored and invisible, Gretchen actually becomes a fly and spends her insect life in the locker room of the boys' gym. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2008

"This book will be an easy sell due to the authors' combined popularity, but readers expecting a book on par with their previous works will be disappointed. (Fiction. YA)"
This tale of three small-town high-school seniors traveling through Florida gives new meaning to the saying, "You don't really know someone until you travel with them." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TELL ME SWEET LITTLE LIES
by Sarah Pitre

 

 

BOOK REPORT for We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Cover Story: Bland
BFF Charm: Caution
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: Mesmerizing
Bonus Factors: Being Rich, Mystery
Relationship Status: Smitten

Cover Story: Bland

In keeping with the etiquette of the Sinclair family, this cover is neither offensive nor particularly compelling. This cover is polite conversation at a cocktail party ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

REQUIEM FOR A SUMMER COTTAGE by Barbara Lockhart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 25, 2002

"An engaging and genuinely moving tale of family grief that acquires a marvelous focus—as well as a poignant metaphor—in its setting."
The domestic travails of a city family that buys a house on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay and settles down to its first taste of rural life. Read full book review >