Search Results: "E.C. Holley"


BOOK REVIEW

DUNCAN, SON OF SAGIRA by E.C. Holley
Released: May 28, 2012

"Cat and magic fans, unite!"
The cats are not what they seem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1997

"The bond is marked by ambivalence, conflict, suffering—and a daughter's impressive commitment to staying connected to, and caring for, a mother whom she has in some sense lost."
The utterly absorbing story of a woman's struggle to care for her mentally ill mother, tracing the ravages of mental illness on both the sufferer and her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A NICE LITTLE BEACH TOWN by E.C. Ward
Released: April 17, 1989

The "nice little beach town" is White's Bay, California, where narrator-hero Chandler Cairns—a 40-ish teacher of high-school English—has lived for years, renting an apartment from old Norwegian fisherman Sven ("Finn") Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EPIC OF CLAIR by E.C. Hansen
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Dogmatic themes and clunky lyrics combine for a dyspeptic ride through this futuristic bildungsroman. (Dystopian epic. 14-18)"
Hansen chooses the ancient epic form and more or less blank verse to tell this postmodern tale of social upheaval in 21st-century Minneapolis-St. Paul. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOICE OF AMERICA by E.C. Osondu
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 2, 2010

"A promising, if a bit repetitive debut. These tales are often horrific in outline, but Osondu's warm, humane, bemused tone deepens rather than undermines their impact."
Osondu's first collection is a grim but compassionate look at desperate Nigerians both at home and abroad. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRESH WATER by E.C. Pielou
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Pielou writes with clarity and a feel for words, and her affection for the subject at hand is immediately and infectiously communicated to readers. (81 b&w illustrations)"
A crystal-clear introduction to the physics, character, and exquisite grace of fresh water, from naturalist Pielou (After the Ice Age, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOUR OF THE MANATEE by E.C. Ayres
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 17, 1994

"More chase than investigation, really, though Tony's debut is marked by a certain lazy mental competence to match the physical stamina he's going to need."
Socialite Henry Hartley III's former domestic Maureen Fitzgerald, who's been certified for 25 years, barely has time to tell Gulf Coast photographer/p.i. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"A deeply reported, thoroughly engaging look at what it takes to succeed in the NFL—and a perfect complement to the NFL Network's compelling miniseries Bill Belichick: A Football Life."
A longtime Patriots chronicler goes inside the brain trust of the NFL's most successful team. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT FIRST I HOPE FOR RESCUE by Holley Rubinsky
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1998

"Verbal energy, narrative drive, high pace, an eye hungry for detail—all show a writer waiting at the gate for when she finds her true subjects."
Canadian Rubinsky's debut consists of five longish stories on trendy topics—child abuse, bulimia, self abuse, etc.—that still don't manage to smother entirely the robust natural energies of her writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMES DEAN by Val Holley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 30, 1995

"A biography by the numbers that never quite adds up. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
The author of this quotidian, excessively anecdotal life of James Dean has done a lot of research, but too rarely does he conjoin it with any real understanding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 7, 2013

"An excellent, easy-to-read introduction to modern economic thinking."
A series of lighthearted essays exploring how holidays reflect our economic system and society. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2005

"As golden as its subject."
Fans of Sue Hubbell and Diane Ackerman will take to this like—well, bees to honey. Read full book review >