Search Results: "E.K. Johnston"


BOOK REVIEW

THE STORY OF OWEN by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2014

"It may '[take] a village to train a dragon slayer,' but it takes an exceptional dragon slayer to deserve a village—and a storyteller—like this one. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
In an alternate world where humans and dragons battle over fossil fuels, the tale of one slayer and his bard becomes a celebration of friendship, family, community and calling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRAIRIE FIRE by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2015

"Grand, heartbreaking, ennobling and unforgettable. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
This follow-up to the acclaimed The Story of Owen (2014) is part adventure, part alternative history, part friendship story, part ecological fable and all heroic saga.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A THOUSAND NIGHTS by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Detailed and quiet, beautifully written with a literary rhythm that evokes a sense of oral tale-telling, this unexpected fantasy should not be missed. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
A loose retelling of The Arabian Nights frame story from Morris Award- and Kirkus Prize-finalist Johnston takes ideas of power and gender, belief and love, and upends them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXIT, PURSUED BY A BEAR by E.K. Johnston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 15, 2016

"Middle and high school readers will pass this powerful, engaging story around and around. Adults should be ready to join in the discussion that follows. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A driven cheerleader confronts life and relationships following her sexual assault. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPINDLE by E.K. Johnston
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"This companion to the stellar A Thousand Nights shares the trappings but not the spirit. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
A blonde, brown-skinned princess, cursed at a birthday party to a certain death and saved by a weak magic that promises sleep instead, all tied to a spindle: you know where this one is going, although this is as much reinterpretation as retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AHSOKA by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"A great treat for young—and not-so-young—Star Wars fans that provides a thrilling back story for a compelling character. (Science fiction. 12 & up)"
Ahsoka Tano is a Jedi on the run. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
by Leila Roy

I didn’t used to overthink my choices quite so much. Then someone made what I’ve always been told is a very important choice for me, and now I tend to overthink everything else.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, by E. K. Johnston

It’s the beginning of Hermione Winters’ senior year in high school, and she and her best friend ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THE PADAWAN THAT GOT AWAY
by Thea James

I love Star Wars.

Like many science fiction fans, I grew up enamored of Jedi and The Force. As a kid, I religiously watched the original trilogy with my family (we are a family of re-watchers). As a teen, I bought into the prequel trilogy: I braved the lines for each film premier showing, collected the video games, the Pepsi ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART ONE
by Leila Roy

The end of the year approacheth, and I have so very great books to share with you!

This year, I’m picking my favorite book of each month—my favorite book that I read in each month, not necessarily published in that month (or even in 2016!)—as well as mentioning a few other bonus books here and there.

Let’s dive right ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUMAN AMUSEMENTS by Wayne Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 13, 2004

"A bit overlong, but, still, another beguiling display of the varied wares of one of the most entertaining and likable of contemporary writers."
A comic coming-of-age story with a pronounced sting in its tail: the Canadian author's fourth novel, first published in 1994 immediately preceding his international success,The Colony of Unrequited Dreams. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKELETON BLUES by Paul Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2016

"The plot, which is even more labyrinthine than usual, will challenge the ingenuity, not to say the memory, of the staunchest readers. But Johnston's nightmarish Edinburgh is so densely imagined that it'll linger in the memory long after the plot is forgotten."
Beneath the skin of Johnston's seventh dystopian whodunit is the threat of a revolution so virulent it could bring the whole series to an end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUE NORTH by Fred Johnston
Released: March 19, 1998

"The —bungled life— of Howard's troubled lexicographer makes for an entertaining poem—compensating for its lack of narrative drive with simple psychic truths."
The author of three previous books of poetry and a study of Irish writing, this Alfred University professor turns to Ireland again as the scene for this verse novella, a long psychological portrait of its narrator, a middle-aged American lexicographer who heads to Ireland during WW II in order to sort out his recent divorce. Read full book review >