Search Results: "E.K. Johnston"


BOOK REVIEW

THE STORY OF OWEN by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2014

"It may '[take] a village to train a dragon slayer,' but it takes an exceptional dragon slayer to deserve a village—and a storyteller—like this one. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
In an alternate world where humans and dragons battle over fossil fuels, the tale of one slayer and his bard becomes a celebration of friendship, family, community and calling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRAIRIE FIRE by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2015

"Grand, heartbreaking, ennobling and unforgettable. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
This follow-up to the acclaimed The Story of Owen (2014) is part adventure, part alternative history, part friendship story, part ecological fable and all heroic saga.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A THOUSAND NIGHTS by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Detailed and quiet, beautifully written with a literary rhythm that evokes a sense of oral tale-telling, this unexpected fantasy should not be missed. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
A loose retelling of The Arabian Nights frame story from Morris Award- and Kirkus Prize-finalist Johnston takes ideas of power and gender, belief and love, and upends them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXIT, PURSUED BY A BEAR by E.K. Johnston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 15, 2016

"Middle and high school readers will pass this powerful, engaging story around and around. Adults should be ready to join in the discussion that follows. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A driven cheerleader confronts life and relationships following her sexual assault. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPINDLE by E.K. Johnston
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"This companion to the stellar A Thousand Nights shares the trappings but not the spirit. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
A blonde, brown-skinned princess, cursed at a birthday party to a certain death and saved by a weak magic that promises sleep instead, all tied to a spindle: you know where this one is going, although this is as much reinterpretation as retelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AHSOKA by E.K. Johnston
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"A great treat for young—and not-so-young—Star Wars fans that provides a thrilling back story for a compelling character. (Science fiction. 12 & up)"
Ahsoka Tano is a Jedi on the run. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT INEVITABLE VICTORIAN THING by E.K. Johnston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A thoughtful exploration of class consciousness, genetics, and politics that doesn't lose track of the human story. (author's note) (Science fiction. 14-adult)"
Three young adults negotiate sexuality in a science-fiction Ontario where the British Empire took a decidedly different path. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
by Leila Roy

I didn’t used to overthink my choices quite so much. Then someone made what I’ve always been told is a very important choice for me, and now I tend to overthink everything else.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, by E. K. Johnston

It’s the beginning of Hermione Winters’ senior year in high school, and she and her best friend ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THE PADAWAN THAT GOT AWAY
by Thea James

I love Star Wars.

Like many science fiction fans, I grew up enamored of Jedi and The Force. As a kid, I religiously watched the original trilogy with my family (we are a family of re-watchers). As a teen, I bought into the prequel trilogy: I braved the lines for each film premier showing, collected the video games, the Pepsi ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART ONE
by Leila Roy

The end of the year approacheth, and I have so very great books to share with you!

This year, I’m picking my favorite book of each month—my favorite book that I read in each month, not necessarily published in that month (or even in 2016!)—as well as mentioning a few other bonus books here and there.

Let’s dive right ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 20, 1997

"Still, a frightening look into what happens when pop psychology is mistaken for therapy, and when the dubious fruits of that therapy are mistaken for truth. (Author tour)"
An utterly captivating story of wine, wealth, and a family destroyed by accusations of incest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

’80 by Whit Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Clear candid shots that suck you in."
Charming short debut about a girl photog in Manhattan in 1980 and the scenes she covers. Read full book review >