Search Results: "Earl R. Joseph"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 26, 2011

"A flawed novel with glimpses of an awesome imagination."
Joseph's debut fantasy breaks peace, incites war and splits three friends from humble beginnings. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH KANON
by Clayton Moore

In an age when America’s intelligence services aren’t always portrayed in the best light, Joseph Kanon’s new novel about the Cold War seems starkly elegant by comparison. In our starred review, Kirkus says of Defectors, “...not since Le Carré’s A Perfect Spy has there been a family of spooks to rival this one.”

The novel is an intimate ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH SCAPELLATO
by Richard Z. Santos

Joseph Scapellato isn’t from the west—he grew up in suburban Chicago—but like so many Americans, the mythic west was always nearby.  “My mom was and is an enormous fan of golden age Westerns: Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, all those dudes in white hats,” Scapellato says. “I grew up watching those, and she accumulated all these cowboy tchotchkes. I grew ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

VERTICAL RUN by Joseph R. Garber
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Escapist literature of a high order in the tradition of John Buchan and Geoffrey Household. (Book-of-the-Month Club alternate selection)"
A lone fall guy leads latter-day forces of darkness a merry, beat-the-clock chase in and around a Manhattan tower: an arresting paranoid fantasy from second-novelist Garber (Rascal Money, 1989). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHIRLWIND by Joseph R. Garber
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Charlie amuses with his superlative craftiness—but that's about it for originality. (N.B.: Don't confuse this spy fiction with the season's other novel named Whirlwind, a bad-weather tale by Michael Grant Jaffe, coming from Norton in October.)"
Run-of-the-mill escapism—fun but not distinguished—from third-timer Garber (Vertical Run, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 30, 1996

"Owen's flair for narrative and his gut-level perspectives on life and death in the front lines make for an eloquent tribute to the disciplined courage and esprit de corps displayed by his comrades in arms. (22 photos, 2 maps, not seen)"
A splendid first-person account of what was arguably the most remarkable engagement of the Korean War. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH FINK & JEFFREY CRANOR
by Clayton Moore

Writing a second novel set in the weird world of Welcome to Night Vale was something of a litmus test for authors Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor, reached by Kirkus separately by phone on the eve of their European tour. The new novel, It Devours! follows up their debut novel Welcome to Night Vale; it’s a thriller that Kirkus calls ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A MEAL TO DIE FOR by Joseph R. Gannascoli
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2006

"Though Benny's checkered backstory is utterly predictable, you could spend a worse couple of hours than watching to see if he gets his."
Debut mob fiction with a light touch from the actor who plays hitman Vito on The Sopranos. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TRUE GRIT
by Myra Forsberg

Classic Western figures like John Wayne’s stubborn cattle rancher in Howard Hawks’ Red River, Lorne Greene’s stirring patriarch in Bonanza, and James Arness’ laconic Marshal Matt Dillon in Gunsmoke galvanize the big and small screens. But this genre’s books also offer plenty of intense characters to savor. Kirkus Indie recently reviewed two Western novels and a novella filled with bracing ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BOAT OF STONE by Maureen Earl
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"The author's many interviews with survivors give this little-known chapter of the Jewish WW II exodus a gritty sense of reality."
In 1940, in a desolate Rumanian port, nearly two thousand Jewish refugees were transferred to the S.S. Atlantic, a crowded ship with scarce food and an indifferent crew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2011

"Despite occasional stalls along the narrative path, the book is a road geek's treasure—and everyone who travels the highways ought to know these stories."
Quick: Who built the interstate highway system? If you answered President Eisenhower, then you're not even half-right, writes Swift (The Tangierman's Lament: and Other Tales of Virginia, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CATFISH CAFE by Earl Emerson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"He's much too modest, but his 11th adventure really is lesser work from the accomplished author of Deception Pass (1997)."
Balinda Little, the daughter of Seattle p.i. Read full book review >