Search Results: "Earl R. Joseph"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 26, 2011

"A flawed novel with glimpses of an awesome imagination."
Joseph's debut fantasy breaks peace, incites war and splits three friends from humble beginnings. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH KANON
by Clayton Moore

In an age when America’s intelligence services aren’t always portrayed in the best light, Joseph Kanon’s new novel about the Cold War seems starkly elegant by comparison. In our starred review, Kirkus says of Defectors, “...not since Le Carré’s A Perfect Spy has there been a family of spooks to rival this one.”

The novel is an intimate ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

VERTICAL RUN by Joseph R. Garber
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Escapist literature of a high order in the tradition of John Buchan and Geoffrey Household. (Book-of-the-Month Club alternate selection)"
A lone fall guy leads latter-day forces of darkness a merry, beat-the-clock chase in and around a Manhattan tower: an arresting paranoid fantasy from second-novelist Garber (Rascal Money, 1989). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHIRLWIND by Joseph R. Garber
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Charlie amuses with his superlative craftiness—but that's about it for originality. (N.B.: Don't confuse this spy fiction with the season's other novel named Whirlwind, a bad-weather tale by Michael Grant Jaffe, coming from Norton in October.)"
Run-of-the-mill escapism—fun but not distinguished—from third-timer Garber (Vertical Run, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH SCAPELLATO
by Richard Z. Santos

Joseph Scapellato isn’t from the west—he grew up in suburban Chicago—but like so many Americans, the mythic west was always nearby.  “My mom was and is an enormous fan of golden age Westerns: Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, all those dudes in white hats,” Scapellato says. “I grew up watching those, and she accumulated all these cowboy tchotchkes. I grew ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 30, 1996

"Owen's flair for narrative and his gut-level perspectives on life and death in the front lines make for an eloquent tribute to the disciplined courage and esprit de corps displayed by his comrades in arms. (22 photos, 2 maps, not seen)"
A splendid first-person account of what was arguably the most remarkable engagement of the Korean War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MEAL TO DIE FOR by Joseph R. Gannascoli
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2006

"Though Benny's checkered backstory is utterly predictable, you could spend a worse couple of hours than watching to see if he gets his."
Debut mob fiction with a light touch from the actor who plays hitman Vito on The Sopranos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOAT OF STONE by Maureen Earl
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"The author's many interviews with survivors give this little-known chapter of the Jewish WW II exodus a gritty sense of reality."
In 1940, in a desolate Rumanian port, nearly two thousand Jewish refugees were transferred to the S.S. Atlantic, a crowded ship with scarce food and an indifferent crew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SALT by Earl Lovelace
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 10, 1997

"An evocative story that tries too hard."
Trinidadian writer Lovelace (The Wine of Astonishment, 1984, etc.) returns after a long hiatus with a tale that starts out as an affecting Caribbean version of It's A Wonderful Life, then disappointingly turns into a flat riff on race and the past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2011

"Despite occasional stalls along the narrative path, the book is a road geek's treasure—and everyone who travels the highways ought to know these stories."
Quick: Who built the interstate highway system? If you answered President Eisenhower, then you're not even half-right, writes Swift (The Tangierman's Lament: and Other Tales of Virginia, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CATFISH CAFE by Earl Emerson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"He's much too modest, but his 11th adventure really is lesser work from the accomplished author of Deception Pass (1997)."
Balinda Little, the daughter of Seattle p.i. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1997

Sociologist Shorris (Latinos, 1992, etc.) uses anecdotal evidence to humanize this overview of poverty in America while presenting his own very personal point of view on how to remedy it. Read full book review >