Search Results: "Edgar Allan Poe"


BOOK REVIEW

THE TELL TALE HEART by Edgar Allan Poe
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: May 6, 2013

"Poe's psychological masterpiece is perfectly matched with just enough digital interactivity to chill readers anew. (Requires iOS 6 and above.)"
Poe's classic short story of murder and madness is here subtly but effectively repurposed to haunt the dreams of a whole new generation of readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK CAT by Robert Poe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 13, 1997

"Gentlemanly, undemanding variation on the master's work."
Poe, a distant relative of Edgar Allan, follows up his debut psychological thriller, Return to the House of Usher (1996), with another variation on a classic Poe story, again set in Crowley Creek, Virginia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Endings by William Poe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2015

"Downbeat but often engaging poems and stories."
A slim volume of largely gay-themed writings with pessimistic overtones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIMON SAYS by William Poe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 18, 2012

"For a novel so filled with debauchery, it could use a few more real thrills."
After his father's death, Simon Powell moves from sleepy Sibley, Ark., to Los Angeles, where he's pulled into a seedy underworld. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIMPLE SIMON by William Poe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 9, 2013

"A sweeping, unpredictable fictional autobiography."
Growing up is tough on Poe's (Simon Says, 2012) titular protagonist in this thoughtful, gritty tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Glitch in the Machine by Edgar Swamp
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 20, 2015

"Overlong but astonishing social commentary."
Swamp's (The Gyre Mission: Journey to the *sshole of the World, 2012) comic and obscene cautionary tale pits the haves against the have-nots in a remarkably unpleasant future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VISCONTI HOUSE by Elsbeth Edgar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Fans of Blue Balliett and Elise Broach's Shakespeare's Secret (2005) will enjoy another puzzle to solve. (author's note) (Mystery. 9-12)"
Whether it's because she would rather write stories alone than hang out with her gossiping classmates or because she lives in the Visconti House, a crumbling Italianate villa (which, everyone assumes, must be haunted), Year 8 Aussie Laura Horton always feels like an outsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2011

"An engaging read, upbeat and inspiring."
The impressive story of how one socially conscious young American woman is changing the lives of poor women in third-world countries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS by Edgar Cantero
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"Freemasonry, of course, figures into the equation. Quirky in presentation and good fun throughout, Cantero's yarn pleases at every turn."
Southern gothic meets Euro hipness in Catalan novelist Cantero's inventive, enjoyable outing in postmodern mystery writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY HOME by John Edgar Wideman
Released: March 25, 1970

"It deserves to find more than one home."
If you can, that is. Read full book review >