Search Results: "Edgar Bronfman"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BRONFMAN HAGGADAH by Edgar Bronfman
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: March 9, 2014

"Families who are interested in a contemporary, inclusive, nontraditional approach to the holiday may find this version useful for sharing with older children before the holiday (and techies may actually use it at the holiday feast itself). (glossary)"
Imagine a Passover Seder with participants clutching tablets and listening to the Haggadah being read aloud by soothing male and female voices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHY BE JEWISH? by Edgar M. Bronfman
NON-FICTION
Released: March 22, 2016

"One man's personal call to laggard Jews to study, learn, and seek justice in a broken world. Readers of other persuasions may also profit from his insight into bits of Jewish thought and practice."
The late businessman and philanthropist answers his title's question with a last testament of sorts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD SPIRITS by Edgar M. Bronfman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 23, 1998

"While this is utterly harmless stuff, the book is likely to be of interest to only a small circle of readers."
A sequel of sorts to The Making of a Jew (1996). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAKING OF A JEW by Edgar M. Bronfman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 1996

"An interesting and provocative memoir—but likely to be found so by an extremely small audience, limited primarily not just to Jews, but to those who recognize Bronfman as an important figure in Jewish affairs."
A wealthy and powerful philanthropist chronicles his exploits on behalf of world Jewry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Glitch in the Machine by Edgar Swamp
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 20, 2015

"Overlong but astonishing social commentary."
Swamp's (The Gyre Mission: Journey to the *sshole of the World, 2012) comic and obscene cautionary tale pits the haves against the have-nots in a remarkably unpleasant future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VISCONTI HOUSE by Elsbeth Edgar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Fans of Blue Balliett and Elise Broach's Shakespeare's Secret (2005) will enjoy another puzzle to solve. (author's note) (Mystery. 9-12)"
Whether it's because she would rather write stories alone than hang out with her gossiping classmates or because she lives in the Visconti House, a crumbling Italianate villa (which, everyone assumes, must be haunted), Year 8 Aussie Laura Horton always feels like an outsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS by Edgar Cantero
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"Freemasonry, of course, figures into the equation. Quirky in presentation and good fun throughout, Cantero's yarn pleases at every turn."
Southern gothic meets Euro hipness in Catalan novelist Cantero's inventive, enjoyable outing in postmodern mystery writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2011

"An engaging read, upbeat and inspiring."
The impressive story of how one socially conscious young American woman is changing the lives of poor women in third-world countries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY HOME by John Edgar Wideman
Released: March 25, 1970

"It deserves to find more than one home."
If you can, that is. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 22, 2012

"An admirable focus on the importance of education, but inexact prose and shaky story structure diminish the effort."
Smith's debut collection of short tales mostly deals with the difficulties faced by young men growing up in Sierra Leone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CATTLE KILLING by John Edgar Wideman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 2, 1996

"A dazzling apocalyptic meditation—and a brilliantly imagined portrayal of 18th century America—that nevertheless lacks coherence and presents a web of enigmatic symbolism so thickly woven that many willing readers simply won't know what to make of it."
A complex and challenging new novel from the author of Sent For You Yesterday (1985), Fever (1989), and other rich, provocative examinations of America's heritage of racial injustice. Read full book review >