Search Results: "Edgar Degas"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"An author's note and bibliography (in equally forbidding tiny type) round out this altogether lovely offering. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
A gloriously illustrated volume appropriately emphasizes process in its examination of Degas's ballet paintings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I DREAMED I WAS A BALLERINA by Anna Pavlova
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"No matter, the spirit that moved them both is apparent in this charming coupling. (picture notes, source notes) (Picture book. 4-10)"
A lovely conceit, sure to appeal to youngsters who dream of dancing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Glitch in the Machine by Edgar Swamp
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 20, 2015

"Overlong but astonishing social commentary."
Swamp's (The Gyre Mission: Journey to the *sshole of the World, 2012) comic and obscene cautionary tale pits the haves against the have-nots in a remarkably unpleasant future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VISCONTI HOUSE by Elsbeth Edgar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Fans of Blue Balliett and Elise Broach's Shakespeare's Secret (2005) will enjoy another puzzle to solve. (author's note) (Mystery. 9-12)"
Whether it's because she would rather write stories alone than hang out with her gossiping classmates or because she lives in the Visconti House, a crumbling Italianate villa (which, everyone assumes, must be haunted), Year 8 Aussie Laura Horton always feels like an outsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2011

"An engaging read, upbeat and inspiring."
The impressive story of how one socially conscious young American woman is changing the lives of poor women in third-world countries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS by Edgar Cantero
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"Freemasonry, of course, figures into the equation. Quirky in presentation and good fun throughout, Cantero's yarn pleases at every turn."
Southern gothic meets Euro hipness in Catalan novelist Cantero's inventive, enjoyable outing in postmodern mystery writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARK AND ALIEN ROSE by Josephine Edgar
Released: July 23, 1991

"Pleasant—with all these elegant surrounds—and forgettable."
By the English author of cheerful period romances like Margaret Normanby (1983)—Margaret of that title appears here—and Bright Young Things (1986), here are the WW I-era adventures of an exotically beautiful, charmingly chirpy Persian/English lass raised in France, who, after a luxurious start in life, later suffers for love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Gyre Mission: Journey to the *sshole of the World by Edgar Swamp
Released: Sept. 25, 2012

"A visually engaging, irrefutably intoxicating adventure."
First-time novelist Swamp weaves an epic tale of a crew sent to assess a garbage heap in the Pacific Ocean—and to learn what happened to the last crew sent to investigate it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY HOME by John Edgar Wideman
Released: March 25, 1970

"It deserves to find more than one home."
If you can, that is. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 22, 2012

"An admirable focus on the importance of education, but inexact prose and shaky story structure diminish the effort."
Smith's debut collection of short tales mostly deals with the difficulties faced by young men growing up in Sierra Leone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FANON by John Edgar Wideman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 7, 2008

"Both those familiar and those unfamiliar with Fanon's work are likely to be bemused by this strange potpourri."
The noted African-American author pays homage to psychiatrist/activist Frantz Fanon, best known for his anti-colonial classic The Wretched of the Earth, in this quasi-fictional meditation that incorporates bits of Wideman's own history. Read full book review >