Search Results: "Edward Averett"


BOOK REVIEW

CAMERON AND THE GIRLS by Edward Averett
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 16, 2013

"Complex questions are carefully presented but answered too simply in this nevertheless intriguing exploration. (Fiction. 12-16)"
In an engaging if predictable cautionary tale, 14-year-old Cameron stops taking medications for his schizophreniform disorder and finds that his choice brings unwanted consequences. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RHYMING SEASON by Edward Averett
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 12, 2005

"Too many problems try to ratchet up the emotional temperature, and readers never get far enough in Brenda's head to heat up a connection. (Fiction. 12+)"
Squeaky clean, and devoid of any aspect of contemporary teen culture (no Internet, drugs or sex; rap is called "urban music"), this first-person narrative, set in a logging community, tells the story of a high-school senior who must learn to cope with a pile of grown-up issues: the recent loss of her basketball star brother, the shuttering of the town's mill and a peculiar basketball coach who believes in the power of poetry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY UNDER THE SEA by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"A clever introduction to ocean life. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An under-the-sea guessing and counting game from the creator of I Spy with My Little Eye (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD APPLE by Edward Hemingway
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"A mixed message shopped in a queasy jacket. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Hemingway's story of friendship against the odds is sweet, but it has hitched its wagon to a very challenging vehicle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY WITH MY LITTLE EYE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (Picture book. 2-6)"
Readers play the "I Spy" game with hidden animals, guessing their identities using only peep-hole glimpses of an eye and a patch of color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAPTAIN BARNACLE’S AQUARIUM by Edward  Miller
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2006

"Trying too hard, this ends up just a bewildering mix; steer young readers instead to more conventional tours like Aliki's My Visit to the Aquarium (1993). (pirate glossary) (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-7)"
Dropping in and out of lecture mode—"Here you'll see countless species of fish. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY IN THE SKY by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Fun to use with preschoolers and younger elementary students in storytimes and as a springboard to encouraging children to observe their environments more closely. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Another title in this author-illustrator's charming I Spy… series (I Spy on the Farm, 2013, etc.), this time featuring some easily identifiable, recognizable avians and some perhaps not so much. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECYCLING DAY by Edward Miller
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2014

"Sure to inspire a new generation of recyclers. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
Three insects and a worm learn about recycling when their vacant lot gets cleaned up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BEE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2012

"This unnecessary, flimsy accessory diminishes the book's effectiveness. (Board book. 2-4)"
It's easier to be the hunter than the hunted in this board book that represents the food chain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOULSHAM by Edward Carey
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 7, 2015

"A story wondrous fine, full of terrors and marvels. (Horror. 11 & up)"
The middle volume of the Iremonger trilogy escalates in both suspense and strangeness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY ON THE FARM by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"A format that engages, entertains and delights—for the third time in a row. Let's hope for more. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Gibbs brings a new guessing game (I Spy with My Little Eye, 2011; I Spy Under the Sea, 2012) to the youngest set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ACORN GROWS UP by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Unfortunate and inappropriate. (Board book. 3-4)"
Mouse, squirrel, bird, rabbit, boar and deer all wonder what an acorn will become, and it promises to feed and shelter these animals once it is grown. Read full book review >