Search Results: "Edward Gibbs"


BOOK REVIEW

I SPY IN THE SKY by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Fun to use with preschoolers and younger elementary students in storytimes and as a springboard to encouraging children to observe their environments more closely. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Another title in this author-illustrator's charming I Spy… series (I Spy on the Farm, 2013, etc.), this time featuring some easily identifiable, recognizable avians and some perhaps not so much. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BEE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2012

"This unnecessary, flimsy accessory diminishes the book's effectiveness. (Board book. 2-4)"
It's easier to be the hunter than the hunted in this board book that represents the food chain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ACORN GROWS UP by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Unfortunate and inappropriate. (Board book. 3-4)"
Mouse, squirrel, bird, rabbit, boar and deer all wonder what an acorn will become, and it promises to feed and shelter these animals once it is grown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY ON THE FARM by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"A format that engages, entertains and delights—for the third time in a row. Let's hope for more. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Gibbs brings a new guessing game (I Spy with My Little Eye, 2011; I Spy Under the Sea, 2012) to the youngest set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY UNDER THE SEA by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"A clever introduction to ocean life. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An under-the-sea guessing and counting game from the creator of I Spy with My Little Eye (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY WITH MY LITTLE EYE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (Picture book. 2-6)"
Readers play the "I Spy" game with hidden animals, guessing their identities using only peep-hole glimpses of an eye and a patch of color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"Thumbnail biographies of Hopper's contemporaries appear in the backmatter, as does a bibliography, notes and a list of museums where readers can find Hopper's work. (Biography. 8-12)"
Lovely design combines with extensive research to produce a compact, lucid biography of one of the 20th-century's foremost American painters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCE EDWARD by Dennis McFarland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 5, 2004

"A near-miss then, though well worth reading."
The growth of a southern white boy's moral consciousness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDWARD VI by Chris Skidmore
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"Sure-footed and evenhanded."
An impressive debut chronicling the brief life of the young man dubbed "the forgotten prince." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 29, 1995

"Depressing, at times tedious, yet nonetheless compelling, this book bears well the inevitable comparison to one of Hopper's signature tableaus. (100 drawings and photos, not seen) (Author tour)"
This sprawling study of his career and marriage sets the great painter of modern bleakness in an important new light but fails to fully illuminate his psyche. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDWARD GETS MESSY by Rita Meade
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"This can't approach Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story (2014) for anxiety about mess and chaos or Deborah Freedman's Blue Chicken (2011) for glorious spills, but it's a fine addition. (Picture book. 4-8)"
If you're afraid to get messy, you might be missing out. Read full book review >