Search Results: "Edward Gibbs"


BOOK REVIEW

I SPY IN THE SKY by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Fun to use with preschoolers and younger elementary students in storytimes and as a springboard to encouraging children to observe their environments more closely. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Another title in this author-illustrator's charming I Spy… series (I Spy on the Farm, 2013, etc.), this time featuring some easily identifiable, recognizable avians and some perhaps not so much. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BEE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2012

"This unnecessary, flimsy accessory diminishes the book's effectiveness. (Board book. 2-4)"
It's easier to be the hunter than the hunted in this board book that represents the food chain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY ON THE FARM by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"A format that engages, entertains and delights—for the third time in a row. Let's hope for more. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Gibbs brings a new guessing game (I Spy with My Little Eye, 2011; I Spy Under the Sea, 2012) to the youngest set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ACORN GROWS UP by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Unfortunate and inappropriate. (Board book. 3-4)"
Mouse, squirrel, bird, rabbit, boar and deer all wonder what an acorn will become, and it promises to feed and shelter these animals once it is grown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY UNDER THE SEA by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"A clever introduction to ocean life. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An under-the-sea guessing and counting game from the creator of I Spy with My Little Eye (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY WITH MY LITTLE EYE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (Picture book. 2-6)"
Readers play the "I Spy" game with hidden animals, guessing their identities using only peep-hole glimpses of an eye and a patch of color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POACHED by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"This thrill-ride of a mystery is chock-full of hijinks for middle-grade sleuths and budding zoologists alike. (Mystery. 8-12)"
In this sequel to Belly Up (2010), 12-year-old trouble-magnet Teddy is still living at FunJungle, a massive zoo and amusement park, with his primatologist mother and wildlife photographer father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVIL SPY SCHOOL by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"It's not a nail-biter, but it certainly is an entertaining battle between good and evil. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Super-spy-in-training Ben Ripley is headed for enemy territory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PANDA-MONIUM by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"Never slumping into the formulaic doldrums, the FunJungle series keeps on chugging. (author's note) (Mystery. 8-12)"
In this fourth roller coaster of an endangered-species mystery, Teddy is still living at the giant zoo/amusement park called FunJungle, and he's still smack dab in the epicenter of the brouhaha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPY SCHOOL SECRET SERVICE by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"This is espionage well worth uncovering. (Thriller. 8-12)"
Only a few months after accidently blowing up the principal's office at the CIA Academy of Espionage, 13-year-old Benjamin Ripley is back with another explosive assignment, and the stakes couldn't be any higher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOT IN THE DARK by Tony Gibbs
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 17, 1996

"Still, acceptable regional series opener for sailboat aficionados."
New nautical Baywatch-with-boats series arrives with a cargo of romance, offshore drug smuggling, and intricate sailing lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPACED OUT by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Fans of the first book will find this a decent mystery but also a bit of a letdown; here's hoping things pick up again in the next volume. (Mystery. 9-14)"
Another mystery presents itself on Moon Base Alpha. Read full book review >