Search Results: "Edward Slingerland"


BOOK REVIEW

TRYING NOT TO TRY by Edward Slingerland
NON-FICTION
Released: March 4, 2014

"A studious and fluent appeal for the benefits of a sound mind."
How an ancient Chinese philosophy applies to the strictures of modern life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY UNDER THE SEA by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"A clever introduction to ocean life. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An under-the-sea guessing and counting game from the creator of I Spy with My Little Eye (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD APPLE by Edward Hemingway
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"A mixed message shopped in a queasy jacket. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Hemingway's story of friendship against the odds is sweet, but it has hitched its wagon to a very challenging vehicle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY WITH MY LITTLE EYE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (Picture book. 2-6)"
Readers play the "I Spy" game with hidden animals, guessing their identities using only peep-hole glimpses of an eye and a patch of color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAPTAIN BARNACLE’S AQUARIUM by Edward  Miller
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2006

"Trying too hard, this ends up just a bewildering mix; steer young readers instead to more conventional tours like Aliki's My Visit to the Aquarium (1993). (pirate glossary) (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-7)"
Dropping in and out of lecture mode—"Here you'll see countless species of fish. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEAP HOUSE by Edward Carey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 2, 2014

"Magnificently creepy. (Horror. 10-16)"
The first in a deliciously macabre trilogy for middle graders and young teens channels Dickens crossed with Lemony Snicket.
Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VERY HAIRY HARRY by Edward Koren
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Next to fellow cartoonist William Steig's Pete's a Pizza, or, more on topic, Kathleen Krull's Clip, Clip, Clip: Three Stories About Hair, illustrated by Paul Brewer, this comes off as a hesitant, under-plotted effort. (Picture book. 5-7)"
New Yorker cartoonist Koren transfers his trademark hirsute, Bigfoot-like figures to a new format, but then doesn't do much with them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE by Edward Mapplethorpe
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2016

"A wonderful portfolio of little monsters—or little angels, as you prefer."
A noted photographer turns from his previous interest in abstract portraiture to immediate, evocative studies of infants in their splendid innocence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY ASTOR'S PURPLE DIARY by Edward Sorel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"What was then labeled 'the worst case of dynamite in Hollywood history' seems pretty tame today, but Sorel's command of tone and pen sustains readers' interest."
A charming slice of retro Hollywood tabloid scandal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOULSHAM by Edward Carey
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 7, 2015

"A story wondrous fine, full of terrors and marvels. (Horror. 11 & up)"
The middle volume of the Iremonger trilogy escalates in both suspense and strangeness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY ON THE FARM by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"A format that engages, entertains and delights—for the third time in a row. Let's hope for more. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Gibbs brings a new guessing game (I Spy with My Little Eye, 2011; I Spy Under the Sea, 2012) to the youngest set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ACORN GROWS UP by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Unfortunate and inappropriate. (Board book. 3-4)"
Mouse, squirrel, bird, rabbit, boar and deer all wonder what an acorn will become, and it promises to feed and shelter these animals once it is grown. Read full book review >