Search Results: "Eileen Whitfield"


BOOK REVIEW

EILEEN by Ottessa Moshfegh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"A shadowy and superbly told story of how inner turmoil morphs into outer chaos."
A woman recalls her mysterious escape from home in this taut, controlled noir about broken families and their proximity to violence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PICKFORD by Eileen Whitfield
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"Any record of these losses, even an unremarkable one such as Whitfield's, thus ought to be valued by those who care about film. (60 b&w photos, not seen)"
A capable account of the life and times of one of the greats of the silent-movie era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOSIE SMITH AND EILEEN by Magdalen Nabb
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 1992

"Illustrations not seen. (Young reader. 5-10)"
``...even if Eileen was horrible sometimes, she was still Josie Smith's best friend,'' concludes this fourth book about a little girl who lives with her mother in an English village. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JO GAR’S CASEBOOK by Raoul Whitfield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2003

"Black Mask fans will be especially intrigued to find just how quiet stories can be without losing their hardboiled edge."
Although best known as the author of the hardboiled novel Green Ice (1930), Whitfield was in his time (1897-1945) one of the most popular and prolific suppliers of short fiction to Black Mask. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING'S WRONG WITH YOUR SCALE! by Van Whitfield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"Amusing, but little else."
Whitfield's second novel (after Beeperless Remote, 1996), a romantic comedy set in the social swarm of contemporary weight-loss culture, is just about as thin as the characters wish their stomachs were. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN GREAT WATERS by Kit Whitfield
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"Refreshingly unusual work from a writer to watch."
Whitfield (Benighted, 2006) delivers a tale of royal intrigue and undersea fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUYS IN SUITS by Van Whitfield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2001

"Entertainment Lite: wisecracking and contrived."
Whitfield (Something's Wrong With Your Scale!, 1999, etc.) returns to that trendy urban landscape where would-be cool black guys hang out trying to make the right moves on their women. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIES YOU WANTED TO HEAR by James Whitfield Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"Relentlessly grim melodrama, in the vein of Ordinary People and Kramer vs. Kramer."
First-time novelist Thomson explores the excruciating pain of a marriage gone wrong in this dreary tale stretched out over two decades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN SEARCH OF AMERICAN JEWISH CULTURE by Stephen J. Whitfield
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 24, 1999

"If readers can stay with him that long, they may be rewarded for the effort."
Whitfield (American Studies/Brandeis; A Death in the Delta: The Life of Emmett Till, 1988) examines the complex interplay between Jewish newcomers to the US and the culture they helped shape. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREFLY ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANIMALS by Camilla de la Bédoyère
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2014

"For browsers and researchers alike, this is a useful and inviting display—and a bargain. (index) (Nonfiction. 8-14)"
From echidnas to paddle worms, this broad guide to the animal kingdom introduces more than 700 animals, organized in groups, illustrated with detailed watercolors and photographs, and presented in conjunction with features on particular types of animals and general animal behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DESPERATE DOG WRITES AGAIN by Eileen Christelow
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Pitch perfect for those children adjusting to a new person in their lives. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Likable dog Emma charms readers again (Letters from a Desperate Dog, 2006) in her anxiety-driven attempts to save her beloved owner, George, from the supposed clutches of new woman-on-the-scene Loretta. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTERS FROM A DESPERATE DOG by Eileen Christelow
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 16, 2006

"Christelow's bright watercolors follow Emma's adventures in comic panels and perfectly depict the satisfying ending. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Emma is a dog who lives with George the painter and his cat, and though she tries her best to please him, things sometimes go wrong. Read full book review >