Search Results: "Elana K. Arnold"


BOOK REVIEW

THE QUESTION OF MIRACLES by Elana K. Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 3, 2015

"A quiet, affecting journey rendered with keen insight. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Hoping for one particular miracle leads Iris to discover that life may be a series of them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INFANDOUS by Elana K. Arnold
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2015

"A coming-of-age story consciously reminiscent of Lolita, this multifaceted portrayal of family bonds surprises with its nuanced and sometimes-searing emotional gravity. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
The summer before senior year gives Sephora Golding time to surf, work on her found-object works of art and reflect on the turn her life has taken. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BOY CALLED BAT by Elana K. Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"Comfortably familiar and quietly groundbreaking, this introduction to Bat should charm readers, who will likely look forward to more opportunities to explore life from Bat's particular point of view. (Fiction. 7-10)"
A third-grader becomes fascinated with an orphaned skunk kit and wages a campaign to convince his veterinarian mom that their family should care for the animal until it can be released to the wild. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SACRED by Elana K. Arnold
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Schlock. (Paranormal romance. 13-16)"
Scarlett's peaceful life on Catalina Island bifurcated last spring into the time Before Ronny Died and her miserable present. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT GIRLS ARE MADE OF by Elana K. Arnold
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 1, 2017

"Unflinchingly candid, unapologetically girl, and devastatingly vital. (author's note) (Fiction. 13-17)"
Pulling back the curtain on the wizard of social expectations, Arnold (Infandous, 2015, etc.) explores the real, knotted, messy, thriving heartbeat of young womanhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURNING by Elana K. Arnold
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 11, 2013

"Lyrical and inspirational, though Lala's inexplicably outsider view of her own culture, complete with sneers at harmless cultural practices, is a deeply jarring note. (Fiction. 14-17)"
A white boy afraid to leave his family meets a Romani girl who wants a brief romantic encounter in the Nevada desert. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAR FROM FAIR by Elana K. Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"An affecting, delicately handled story of growing up. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Odette Zyskoski's life is being ruined by her parents' decision to sell their house and head north in an RV they've dubbed the Coach. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A BOY AND HIS SKUNK
by Leila Roy

“I love him,” Bat said. He hadn’t meant to say it out loud. Mom laughed. “Careful, or you might make me jealous,” she said.
“But it’s true,” Bat said. “I love him.” 
Mom said they’d have to hand the kit over to the rescue center in a month. But Bat, holding the tiny animal in ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW IN MARCH 2017
by Leila Roy

There are HEAPS of books coming out this month, and I want to read a LOT of them.

Let’s take a look!

A Boy Called Bat, by Elana K. Arnold

I’ve already written about this treasure at length, but my love is such that I can’t let a single opportunity to recommend it pass me by. Buy it, read it ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Case Two: Big Bully Holly Howler by Elana Ashley
Released: Nov. 19, 2015

"Young readers should sympathize with the compassionate heroine, and perhaps start to feel empathy for others."
An alien detective and his elephant friends return in this second issue-based adventure for grade schoolers, filled with brightly colored photographs of puppet characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DELHI DECEPTION by Elana Sabharwal
Released: Jan. 28, 2013

"A swift pace will keep readers hooked as the timely, intriguing plot unravels."
In Sabharwal's debut romantic thriller, a 30-something South African journalist travels to Delhi, falls for a mysterious charmer and inadvertently becomes a pawn in a secret mission to uncover a sinister underworld of human trafficking and international crime. Read full book review >