Search Results: "Ellen Elias-Bursac"


BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY’S HOME by Dubravka Ugresic
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 26, 2008

"Taut, timely pieces by a writer who sees the cosmic in the quotidian."
Croatian novelist/essayist Ugresic (The Ministry of Pain, 2006, etc.), now a resident of Amsterdam, offers discerning, sometimes grumpy commentary on a rapidly changing Europe—and a rapidly changing world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIESTE by Daša Drndic
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"A brilliant artistic and moral achievement worth reading."
An epic, heart-rending saga from the Croatian novelist about a forgotten corner of the Nazi Holocaust. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEARNING CYRILLIC by David Albahari
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 23, 2014

"Considered, sometimes-stiff experiments enlivened by Albahari's wordplay."
Expats, lovers and writers from Belgrade to Calgary wrestle with distance and loss in this pensive, postmodern story collection from the veteran Serbian author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GÖTZ AND MEYER by David Albahari
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 5, 2005

"Decades later, the Holocaust continues to enslave and inspire the European literary imagination—seldom more memorably than in Albahari's brilliantly disturbing novel."
What Hannah Arendt called "the banality of evil" is evoked with intensity in the prizewinning Serbian-born author's previously untranslated 1998 novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABA YAGA LAID AN EGG by Dubravka Ugresic
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2010

"A playful, inventive and humane look at women and aging."
Expatriate Croatian novelist and essayist Ugresic (Nobody's Home, 2008, etc.) spins contemporary fiction from a popular figure in Slavic folklore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTES FROM HAMPSTEAD by Elias Canetti
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"But the few will be grateful for Canetti's book and for Hargraves's exacting translation of it."
A Nobel Prize winner illuminates topics ranging from death and great writers to religion and myth, ethnicity and creativity, and much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 19, 2011

"For readers of Anne Frank's diary—namely, nearly everyone—this is a moving amplification on her too-brief life."
Heart-rending documents of Anne Frank's family, both before and after the devastating events of the war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SAW A BULLFROG by Ellen Stern
ANIMALS
Released: April 22, 2003

"The failure here is not in quality of art, but of imagination; next to Jack Prelutsky's Scranimals, or Sarah Perry's If— (1995), too many of these creations just fall flat. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Stern showcases unusual facility at naturalistic depiction, but like the 11 imaginary animal hybrids that appear here, the result overall is neither fish nor fowl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOLLY'S SEASONS by Ellen Kandoian
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

"A quiet but skillfully crafted book. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The author of Under the Sun (1987), in which Molly's mother describes the daily progress of sunlight as the sun sets on other children around the world, presents the seasons as Molly experiences them in Maine; then, extending the concept, she describes polar seasons (``Winter means darkness and noon looks like night,/Summer means sunshine and midnight is bright'') and the reversal in the Southern Hemisphere. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2008

"Aboujaoude is obviously proud of his work—and he should be—but his skills as a writer are seriously lacking."
Sketchy profiles of obsessive-compulsive patients, from the director of Stanford's Impulse Control Disorders Clinic. Read full book review >