Search Results: "Ellen Elias-Bursac"


BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY’S HOME by Dubravka Ugresic
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 26, 2008

"Taut, timely pieces by a writer who sees the cosmic in the quotidian."
Croatian novelist/essayist Ugresic (The Ministry of Pain, 2006, etc.), now a resident of Amsterdam, offers discerning, sometimes grumpy commentary on a rapidly changing Europe—and a rapidly changing world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOTEL TITO by Ivana  Bodrožic
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 11, 2017

"Tragic history conveyed with honesty and candor."
A young girl is caught in the turmoil of adolescence and war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABA YAGA LAID AN EGG by Dubravka Ugresic
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2010

"A playful, inventive and humane look at women and aging."
Expatriate Croatian novelist and essayist Ugresic (Nobody's Home, 2008, etc.) spins contemporary fiction from a popular figure in Slavic folklore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GÖTZ AND MEYER by David Albahari
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 5, 2005

"Decades later, the Holocaust continues to enslave and inspire the European literary imagination—seldom more memorably than in Albahari's brilliantly disturbing novel."
What Hannah Arendt called "the banality of evil" is evoked with intensity in the prizewinning Serbian-born author's previously untranslated 1998 novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEARNING CYRILLIC by David Albahari
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 23, 2014

"Considered, sometimes-stiff experiments enlivened by Albahari's wordplay."
Expats, lovers and writers from Belgrade to Calgary wrestle with distance and loss in this pensive, postmodern story collection from the veteran Serbian author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIESTE by Daša Drndic
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"A brilliant artistic and moral achievement worth reading."
An epic, heart-rending saga from the Croatian novelist about a forgotten corner of the Nazi Holocaust. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTES FROM HAMPSTEAD by Elias Canetti
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"But the few will be grateful for Canetti's book and for Hargraves's exacting translation of it."
A Nobel Prize winner illuminates topics ranging from death and great writers to religion and myth, ethnicity and creativity, and much more. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ELLEN ULLMAN
by Gregory McNamee

A thinking machine, grumbled the tradition-minded British writer G. K. Chesterton, “is a brainless phrase of modern fatalism and materialism.” He added, “A machine only is a machine because it cannot think.”

But that was at the turn of the last century. A dozen decades later, thinking machines are among us, machines that learn from our behavior and ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ELLEN OH
by Alex Heimbach

Like most writers, Ellen Oh was an avid reader growing up. “Books were always my friends,” she says. At least until second grade, when her teacher read The Five Chinese Brothers to the class. Afterwards, her classmates taunted her with racial slurs, and one boy tried to paint her skin yellow because she was "the wrong color for a ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 19, 2011

"For readers of Anne Frank's diary—namely, nearly everyone—this is a moving amplification on her too-brief life."
Heart-rending documents of Anne Frank's family, both before and after the devastating events of the war. Read full book review >