Search Results: "Ellie Crowe"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"The author, an award-winning subject specialist on Hawai'i, its customs and culture, includes acknowledgements and citations on the verso. (timeline, map) (Picture book/nonfiction. 7+)"
"In school Duke struggled with his lessons, but in the ocean he was a star." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHARP HORNS ON THE MOON by Carole Crowe
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"A strong novel, featuring an unusually scary, mercurial ghost. (Fiction. 10-13)"
A lonely fisherman's daughter finds a dubious playmate in this suspenseful ghost story, set in a remote corner of a Florida island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD by Ellie Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"With about the same amount of effort children can make their own masks from scratch—and act out less-superficial renditions of the stories too. (Novelty/folk tale. 6-8)"
This reworked version of the classic tale keeps everyone uneaten and alive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYBUNNY DANCE! by Ellie Sandall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Foxy fun. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The coast is clear! It's a perfect chance for a colony of bunnies to dance, play, and sing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: THURGOOD MARSHALL by Chris Crowe
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 3, 2008

"This is a captivating portrait of a heroic champion of justice that also offers great insight into the most pivotal moments of the Civil Rights Movement. (source notes, bibliography, further reading, index, photo credits) (Biography. 11 & up)"
Crowe offers an engaging, insightful portrait of the first African-American Supreme Court justice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRAGILE DARKNESS by Ellie James
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 27, 2012

"Nonetheless, fans of the series will devour this offering and look forward to the promise of additional titles, perhaps ones that crank up the paranormal factor even higher as the powers of other characters are increasingly revealed and explored. (Paranormal mystery. 12 & up)"
The third installment of the Midnight Dragonfly series barrels along at breakneck speed, a paranormal thrill ride from start to finish. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINDEN TREE by Ellie Mathews
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2007

"For fans of Sarah, Plain and Tall. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Nine-year-old Katy Sue Hanson, an Iowa farm girl in 1948, is accustomed to the cycles of life and death, but nothing prepares her close-knit family for her mother's sudden death from meningitis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSISSIPPI TRIAL, 1955 by Chris Crowe
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2001

"Teen readers will find themselves caught up in Hiram's very real struggle to do the right thing. (Fiction. YA)"
Historical fiction examines the famous case of Emmett Till, whose murder was one of the triggers of the civil-rights movement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BONE JACK by Sara Crowe
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"A lovely, eerie adventure that balances the ancient magic with its protagonist's very real character growth. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
In a grim season, one rural tradition seems less like a boys' romp and more like a gateway for the old powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH COMING UP THE HILL by Chris Crowe
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A memorable / and innovative story / of one wrenching year. (historical note, author's note) (Historical fiction/poetry. 12-16)"
Seventeen-year-old Ashe Douglas records the events of 1968 in a novel in haiku. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 2003

"This work, despite its flaws, does bring to a child audience one of the most egregious instances of American injustice, and thus merits consideration. (Nonfiction. 12+)"
An awkward and problematic beginning gives way to a provocative, if occasionally histrionic, account of the 1955 trial of the murderers of Emmett Till, one of the flashpoint moments in the early civil-rights movement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RELUCTANTLY CHARMED by Ellie O'Neill
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 17, 2015

"A whimsical but flawed novel."
In this chatty and original debut, a young Irish woman's life is turned upside down when she publishes the cryptic messages left behind by an ancestor. Read full book review >