Search Results: "Emily Suvada"


BOOK REVIEW

THIS MORTAL COIL by Emily  Suvada
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 7, 2017

"An original concept but with an ending that requires a suspension of disbelief. (Science fiction. 14-18)"
In Suvada's high-tech debut, a virus has ravaged the world and one teen holds the key to the cure. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TEA TO SEE
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault

Cover Story: Drink Me
BFF Charm: Maybe
Swoonworthy Scale: 2
Talky Talk: Straight Up With A Twist
Bonus Factor: Tasseomancy
Relationship Status: Not Seeing A Future

Cover Story: Drink Me

I like this cover well enough—the shattered teacup is a little on the nose, but the painting-like quality and dark tones ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE PEAR APPLE BEAR by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: May 22, 2007

"The creamy background and gray typeface complement the light lines and bright colors of the fruits, and the bear is a striking example of how, in this case at least, less is definitely more. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Loose line-and-watercolor illustrations ring the changes on all the possible combinations of the four title words in this deliciously playful romp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAMA TRIED by Emily Flake
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"A mixed bag of a graphic memoir. Alternadad, meet Indie-mom."
A graphic narrative provides a hipster's guide to motherhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR & HARE GO FISHING by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Funny and quick, with excellent art that's curbed by its tight frame. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An easygoing fishing trip yields unexpected catches. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATILDA'S CAT by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 18, 2014

"Even Matilda's cat would like this. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A master of animal countenance, Gravett pairs an expressive cat with a busy kid and winks at the difference between textual and visual message. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHAMELEON by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: March 8, 2011

"Both chameleons and friendship populate children's picture books liberally, but this one's well worth adding to the shelf. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A lonely chameleon pines for a pal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WENDELL THE NARWHAL by Emily Dove
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Whether would-be musicians or not, children will find a lot to like in little Wendell. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Teamwork helps a narwhal to participate in an underwater orchestra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY AND ME by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: March 4, 2008

"Playfully set typography finishes off this fizzy offering, which is perfectly in tune with the way a child's imagination and a beloved toy are all the ingredients needed for happiness. (Picture book. 3-6)"
"Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / We went to see, / We went to see some . . . / PENGUINS!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KIDS’ FUN BOOK OF JEWISH TIME by Emily Sper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"She concludes on an appreciative note, quoting Psalm 90: 'Count our days with thanks and we will bring wisdom to the heart.' (Picture book. 3-8)"
The highly successful creator of Jewish-themed toy and movable books introduces the concept of the Judaic lunar calendar to young children including terminology in both Hebrew and English for counting and naming the days of the week and months. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLVES by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Brilliant fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
With a nod to David Wiesner's classic, The Three Pigs (2001), newcomer Gravett creates a postmodern story that can easily be enjoyed by a less sophisticated audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE DID THEY GO? by Emily Bornoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Seek-and-find fans will enjoy the challenge, but both the point and much of the informational detail are lost amid the artsy touches. (Picture book. 6-8)"
To give readers ways to visualize the idea of rarity, Bornoff invites viewers to pick out 13 threatened creatures hidden in as many intricately patterned landscapes. Read full book review >