Search Results: "Emily Cassel"


BOOK REVIEW

POST GRAD by Emily Cassel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2009

"A mishmash of The Devil Wears Prada, Sex and the City and various coming-of-age flicks, the novel works fine as a light beach read, but is no more demanding than an afternoon at the movies."
A recently minted college graduate learns she can't always get what she wants. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TEA TO SEE
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault

Cover Story: Drink Me
BFF Charm: Maybe
Swoonworthy Scale: 2
Talky Talk: Straight Up With A Twist
Bonus Factor: Tasseomancy
Relationship Status: Not Seeing A Future

Cover Story: Drink Me

I like this cover well enough—the shattered teacup is a little on the nose, but the painting-like quality and dark tones ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WENDELL THE NARWHAL by Emily Dove
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Whether would-be musicians or not, children will find a lot to like in little Wendell. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Teamwork helps a narwhal to participate in an underwater orchestra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY AND ME by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: March 4, 2008

"Playfully set typography finishes off this fizzy offering, which is perfectly in tune with the way a child's imagination and a beloved toy are all the ingredients needed for happiness. (Picture book. 3-6)"
"Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / We went to see, / We went to see some . . . / PENGUINS!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KIDS’ FUN BOOK OF JEWISH TIME by Emily Sper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"She concludes on an appreciative note, quoting Psalm 90: 'Count our days with thanks and we will bring wisdom to the heart.' (Picture book. 3-8)"
The highly successful creator of Jewish-themed toy and movable books introduces the concept of the Judaic lunar calendar to young children including terminology in both Hebrew and English for counting and naming the days of the week and months. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLVES by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Brilliant fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
With a nod to David Wiesner's classic, The Three Pigs (2001), newcomer Gravett creates a postmodern story that can easily be enjoyed by a less sophisticated audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE DID THEY GO? by Emily Bornoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Seek-and-find fans will enjoy the challenge, but both the point and much of the informational detail are lost amid the artsy touches. (Picture book. 6-8)"
To give readers ways to visualize the idea of rarity, Bornoff invites viewers to pick out 13 threatened creatures hidden in as many intricately patterned landscapes. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE LAST, THE FIRST, THE BEST
by Julie Danielson

Because it’s the holidays, I had some down time this week to look through some early-2017 picture book releases. At the same time, however, 2016 isn’t quite over yet, so today I’m going to tell you about two expertly crafted picture books – one out this week in the last gasp of this year and one that hits bookshelves just ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LIKE IT NEVER HAPPENED by Emily Adrian
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 2, 2015

"Original and intriguing; a powerful debut. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Budding actor Rebecca Rivers knows who she is and where she's going; she's also shadowed by an old, unearned middle school reputation that refuses to die. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNSLUT by Emily Lindin
Released: Dec. 29, 2015

"While this direct presentation of events allows readers to see the nuances of this bullying experience, it's a difficult and at times tedious narrative. (Memoir. 12 & up)"
A diary kept in the late 1990s by a middle school girl labeled a "slut" by her peers is transcribed, with footnotes adding her adult commentary, in this expository memoir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAGICIAN'S BIRD by Emily  Fairlie
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Fans of the first book will be glad to rejoin this unlikely team of detectives. (Mystery. 8-12)"
In this easy, breezy mystery, Laurie and Bud spend their summer planning a scavenger hunt, discovering a secret room and solving a missing person case. Read full book review >