Search Results: "Emily Gravett"


BOOK REVIEW

BEAR & HARE GO FISHING by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Funny and quick, with excellent art that's curbed by its tight frame. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An easygoing fishing trip yields unexpected catches. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATILDA'S CAT by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 18, 2014

"Even Matilda's cat would like this. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A master of animal countenance, Gravett pairs an expressive cat with a busy kid and winks at the difference between textual and visual message. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AGAIN! by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2013

"This little bit of bedtime foolery feels a little incomplete, but it should strike a chord—and it's far wittier than the similarly themed Go the Fuck to Sleep. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Gravett, that master of the metafictive die cut, returns for a savvy bedtime satire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR & HARE by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"A mischievous addition to the winter bookshelf. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Two friends have vastly different experiences in the snow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF WON'T BITE! by Emily Gravett
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 20, 2012

"A slightly cryptic but satisfying wolf/pig reversal. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Three carny pigs push a patient wolf too far in Gravett's latest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOGS by Emily Gravett
by Emily Gravett, illustrated by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"The last spread reveals the identity of the narrator—which, in classic Gravett fashion, will make readers chuckle and then rethink the entire book that preceded it. (Picture book. 4-8)"
"I love dogs," states an unseen narrator at the beginning of this winningly simple opposites book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEERKAT MAIL by Emily Gravett
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 25, 2007

"Along with humor and suspense, she folds snippets of natural history into the tale—and it's worth noting that meerkats outdo even kittens for cuteness and personality. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A restless meerkat's wanderjahr lasts just six days, but that's long enough to visit as many members of his far-flung clan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RABBIT PROBLEM by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 2, 2010

"Endless fun to pore over for kids and math-minded or geeky adults. (Picture book. 4-9, Adult)"
In Gravett's gifted hands, an old math problem springs to life—and more life and more life! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMAGINARY by A.F. Harrold
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 3, 2015

"Wonderfully entertaining. (Fantasy. 9-13)"
What happens to the imaginary friends we make when we are so little we can't remember them later on? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE PEAR APPLE BEAR by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: May 22, 2007

"The creamy background and gray typeface complement the light lines and bright colors of the fruits, and the bear is a striking example of how, in this case at least, less is definitely more. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Loose line-and-watercolor illustrations ring the changes on all the possible combinations of the four title words in this deliciously playful romp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY AND ME by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: March 4, 2008

"Playfully set typography finishes off this fizzy offering, which is perfectly in tune with the way a child's imagination and a beloved toy are all the ingredients needed for happiness. (Picture book. 3-6)"
"Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / Monkey and me, / We went to see, / We went to see some . . . / PENGUINS!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLVES by Emily Gravett
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Brilliant fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
With a nod to David Wiesner's classic, The Three Pigs (2001), newcomer Gravett creates a postmodern story that can easily be enjoyed by a less sophisticated audience. Read full book review >