Search Results: "Emma Dodd"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ENTERTAINER by Emma Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 2, 2015

"A pleasant party bonbon. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When the family hires the man in the big, brown bear suit to entertain at Billy's birthday party, many surprises follow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WISH by Emma Dodd
by Emma Dodd, illustrated by Emma Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 8, 2015

"The sentiments are certainly sweet, but this vein may be just about played out. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Another in Dodd's series of diminutive picture books that celebrate the loving bond between an adult and a child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST LIKE YOU by Emma Dodd
by Emma Dodd, illustrated by Emma Dodd
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2008

"A companion, No Matter What (ISBN: 978-0-525-47932-1), while not as original, offers reassurance that Momma Elephant will love her baby no matter what. (Picture book. 2-5)"
While frolicking with one of his parents, a bear cub shares all his dreams. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I DON'T WANT A COOL CAT! by Emma Dodd
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 9, 2010

"For those who don't want a dull book, never fear—Dodd's latest is picture- (and pitch-) perfect. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's definitely been done before—by the author herself (I Don't Want a Posh Dog, 2009) as well as by myriad others who've created their own takes on "why my pet's the best." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY AND ME by Emma Dodd
by Emma Dodd, illustrated by Emma Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2014

"Pushing actual child care duties off on preschoolers is a nonstarter, but this may help prepare younger prospective sibs for family changes. (Pop-up/picture book. 3-4)"
A child with a doll demonstrates baby care in this sweet, decidedly purposeful outing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOXY by Emma Dodd
by Emma Dodd, illustrated by Emma Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2012

"Kids nervous about their own first day may just fall asleep wishing for their own Foxy visitor. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A very young girl's first-day-of-school jitters prompt a nighttime visit from Foxy, whose magical tail causes "school supplies" to appear, fairy-godmother style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST BEAR by Emma Dodd
by Emma Dodd, illustrated by Emma Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Nice enough bedtime reading for the very young. (Picture book. 3-6)"
It's bedtime, and a little boy in red pajamas climbs the stairs with his best friend, a scruffy stuffed bear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MORE AND MORE by Emma Dodd
by Emma Dodd, illustrated by Emma Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"High on message and low on content. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A monkey parent expresses love for all the bits and pieces of a monkey child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOMMY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 22, 2011

"The large format and warm tone make this truly perfect for little ones. (Picture book. 0-3)"
Andreae and Dodd team up to create a winning read-aloud for the very young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HETTY’S 100 HATS by Janet Slingsby
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2005

"The various combinations of hats acquired and hats still needed offer some embedded math concepts, and the story will fit well into hat themes or 100th day of school celebrations, for of course, if the hat fits, why not wear it? (Picture book. 4-7)"
Hetty has a hankering for hats and she's determined to expand her collection to a grand total of 100. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, BABY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"For new siblings who are pretty solid in knowing their body parts. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Andreae and Dodd continue to explore family relationships (I Love My Mommy, 2011; I Love My Daddy, 2012) with this look at the towheaded toddler's love for his new sibling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAINBOW FUN! by Emily Hawkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Fingers and voice work as well or better, for free. (6-18 mos.)"
Concentric die-cuts give this color book a tactile element. Read full book review >