Search Results: "Emmy Laybourne"


BOOK REVIEW

SWEET by Emmy Laybourne
Released: June 2, 2015

"A glitzy bloodbath with the most ironic title ever. (Horror. 13 & up)"
Celebrities, romance, and carnage on the high seas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONUMENT 14 by Emmy Laybourne
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 5, 2012

"Lord of the Flies this ain't, but it is a pretty decent adventure story, and readers will eagerly await the second volume. (Adventure. 13-16)"
A staggering natural disaster maroons a handful of teens and younger children in a suburban Colorado big-box department store. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY by Connie Jordan Green
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 30, 1992

"An old- fashioned story—with lively escapades, problems resolved, and problems endured—but also a believable picture of good people making the best of hard times. (Fiction. 10-14)"
The author of The War at Home (1989), set on a Tennessee farm in 1945, moves back a generation to early union days in the coal country. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY & OLIVER by Robin Benway
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 23, 2015

"As a portrait of the emerging adolescent, it engages, even if it gives the effects of the kidnapping on its victim short shrift. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A girl loses her best friend when he's kidnapped by his father at 7 and must cope when he returns 10 years later. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DETOUR FOR EMMY by Marilyn Reynolds
FICTION
Released: Aug. 15, 1993

"Then, steer them on to Wolff's Make Lemonade (p. 670) and Doherty's Dear Nobody (1992)—two powerful, beautifully written books on the same topic, and just as accessible and authentic. (Fiction. 12-16)"
From a publisher known for nonfiction on pregnancy and parenting for teen parents, a novel detailing one single mother's experiences from her first date with Art, in ninth grade, through giving birth at 16 and later completing community college. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TREE FOR EMMY by Mary Ann Rodman
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"A fine introduction to the pleasures of trees, well suited for group and home reading. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Freckled, red-haired Emmy loves trees—her grandmother's impressive mimosa in particular. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY AND THE INCREDIBLE SHRINKING RAT by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"Fun and funny, this fast-paced page turner appropriately begins and ends with the unforgettable Rat in an acrobatic flip-book feature. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Ten-year-old Emmy lived happily with her parents in an apartment above their bookstore until an unexpected inheritance changed their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY AND THE RATS IN THE BELFRY by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: July 5, 2011

"Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Ten-year-old Emmy Addison returns with rodent pal Raston Rat to prove she's a responsible kid who still has what it takes to outwit her former nanny, the devious Jane Barmy, in this fast-paced sequel to Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls (2008). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY AND THE HOME FOR TROUBLED GIRLS by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"More clever, rodent-filled fantasy featuring the irascible, irresistible Raston Rat and the extraordinary Emmy—and Bean's flip-book wizardry. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Emmy Addison and her friends Joe (a boy) and Raston (a magic rat) return in this whirlwind sequel that picks up weeks after Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat (2007) ended. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A REALLY AWESOME MESS by Trish Cook
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 23, 2013

"Funny and fast-moving—but too much of the healing rings hollow. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A group of teens at a live-in institution for troubled young people bond, pull off a caper and overcome their issues in an amusing but overly rosy two-narrator tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE QUILT WALK by Sandra Dallas
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Finely stitched. (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
When 10-year-old Emmy Blue Hatchett's father announces that the family will be traveling from their home in Illinois to the frontier town of Golden, Colo., the reaction to the news is as varied as the colors in one of their beloved hand-pieced quilts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS LOVE  by Mette Bach
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Sparks fly between Emmy and Jude, but they may not between Emmy and readers. (Fiction. 14-18)"
When mousy, pudgy, white Emmy goes to her father's family in Vancouver for a change of scene, she falls head over heels for Jude, a young white trans man. Read full book review >