Search Results: "Eric Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

MURDER TAKE THREE by Eric Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Cozy fans will enjoy the charming, curmudgeonly characters but have no trouble spotting the killer."
An English country-house murder gets a Hollywood twist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER AT THE LOCH by Eric Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2016

"Though it's set in the mid-1950s, Brown's third (Murder at the Chase, 2014, etc.) is a typical golden age whodunit whose limited number of motive-rich suspects will neither break new ground nor raise your blood pressure."
Snow isolates a Scottish Highland castle, providing the perfect setting for a murder mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KÉTHANI by Eric Brown
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2008

"Resembling a cross between John Wyndham and Bob Shaw: Beautifully rendered and quietly effective, though once you get the idea the impact diminishes."
Near-future alien-contact story cycle from British author Brown (Helix, 2007, etc.) comprising nine previously published pieces plus three originals (one a collaboration) and other linked material that connects the various stories into an approximation of a novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER BY THE BOOK by Eric Brown
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"Charming characters and a consistently entertaining tone mark this crime debut from sci-fi veteran Brown (Kéthani, 2008, etc.)."
When dangers threaten London's community of mystery writers, one of their own is forced to investigate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER AT THE CHASE by Eric Brown
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2014

"Donald's second mystery (Murder by the Book, 2013) takes place in 1955 but reads like a country-house whodunit from the golden age, packed with fascinating characters, each boasting a motive for murder."
A mystery writer and an assistant literary agent delve into crime in the country. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELIX by Eric Brown
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 1, 2007

"Readers who avoid hardcore sci-fi may not be able to follow the story, but Brown offers a memorable addition to the genre."
Classic science-fiction components and a general reverence for science make this tale of intergalactic travel a worthy, occasionally awe-inspiring read. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

COLOR COMMENTARY
by Julie Danielson

I’ve always found it difficult to answer the what’s-your-favorite-color question, as the answer depends entirely on my mood. (I like deep blues for more contemplative times, but I need sunny yellow to help wake me in the mornings.)

Perhaps it’s even harder for artists to pick a favorite color. Is it like asking them to pick a favorite child? I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPREMACY by Eric Peter Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 9, 2016

"An action-oriented tale of interplanetary teamwork."
Earthling Marc Hawkins joins a multispecies team of aliens and combats evil forces threatening all sentient life in the galaxy in Brown's debutsci-fi novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF ALL THE ANIMALS CAME INSIDE by Eric Pinder
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 17, 2012

"All the fun of imagination without the mess of reality. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A young boy imagines the riot that would ensue if his house were overrun with wild animals. Read full book review >