Search Results: "Eric Futran"


BOOK REVIEW

SHOW ME HAPPY by Kathryn Madeline Allen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"A nice addition to the bookshelves of day care centers, preschools and families with young children. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Rhyming text in large print accompanies colorful photographs of children of different ethnic backgrounds, all engaged in the enjoyment of life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A KISS MEANS I LOVE YOU by Kathryn Madeline Allen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Despite small flaws, the book is a solid introduction to a range of human expressions and the concept of nonverbal communication. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Color photographs of children expressing different emotions and enacting certain situations introduce the idea of "reading" body language to the youngest children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BABY’S COMING TO YOUR HOUSE! by Shelley Moore Thomas
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

"Worldly-wise preschoolers will appreciate this honest appraisal of what is to come. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this smart, sassy preview of life with baby for the preschool set, Thomas (Somewhere Today: A Book of Peace, etc.) serves up her home truths about new babies with a liberal dash of wry humor. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

COLOR COMMENTARY
by Julie Danielson

I’ve always found it difficult to answer the what’s-your-favorite-color question, as the answer depends entirely on my mood. (I like deep blues for more contemplative times, but I need sunny yellow to help wake me in the mornings.)

Perhaps it’s even harder for artists to pick a favorite color. Is it like asking them to pick a favorite child? I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE A HEART SHARE A HEART by Eric  Telchin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2012

"Stick with Tana Hoban's books on shapes found in everyday locations. While obviously a passion for the photographer, few others are likely to be charmed by this offering. (author's note, picture notes) (Picture book. 3-6)"
After noticing a heart-shaped puddle of melted ice cream at a friend's party, Telchin began to see heart shapes everywhere and to take pictures of them with his phone. Here, he shares some of his diverse collection of photographic images of hearts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRANKIE PICKLE AND THE MATHEMATICAL MENACE by Eric Wight
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 26, 2011

"Ultimately, math teachers and parents might like this mildly amusing offering, but it just won't add up to much for many real-life Frankies. (Graphic hybrid. 7-10)"
Frankie Pickle, star of previous graphic-hybrid novels, is once again in, well, a pickle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA’S RECORDS by Eric  Velasquez
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2001

"Although we can't hear Grandma's song, this heart-felt story has a melody of its own. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-8)"
In his debut as an author, Velasquez, illustrator of The Sound That Jazz Makes (2000) tells an entertaining first-person story (presumably autobiographical) of an unnamed Puerto Rican boy in the '50s who spends every summer with his grandmother in Spanish Harlem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA AND ASHA by Eric Rohmann
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"Lest young readers think Asha is Clara's exclusive imaginary friend, an eager-looking crocodile comes to her window at the end, and Clara thinks, 'Can I help if I have so many friends?' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Asha is a giant fish, originally of the spitting marble-fountain variety, who flies up to Clara's bedroom window at night when she can't get to sleep. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROM HEAD TO TOE by Eric Carle
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 1997

"Linda Lowery's Twist With a Burger, Jitter With a Bug (1995) inspires similar participation, but is a more rhythmic and vivacious book. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Carle (Little Cloud, 1996, etc.) takes as his premise that animals don't have to go to the gym—their natural movements give them plenty of exercise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEASTS OF FURY by Eric Colossal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Amusing but bland, this graphic novel works better as a snack than as a meal. (Graphic adventure. 8-11)"
Traveling chef Rutabaga and his magical cooking-pot companion, Pot, continue to journey the world in search of new ingredients. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST BUSY BOOK by Eric Carle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 15, 2015

"A satisfying package that will indeed keep toddlers busy—exemplary. (Board book. 2-4)"
The latest addition to the World of Eric Carle is proof that the Wilder Award-winning picture-book creator knows what appeals to children. Read full book review >