Search Results: "Eric Orchard"


BOOK REVIEW

MADDY KETTLE by Eric Orchard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A sweet-mannered debut with plenty of lift, despite the abrupt and wide-open ending. (Graphic fantasy. 8-10)"
Intrepid young Maddy encounters goblins, flying whales, and allies ranging from a friendly vampire bat to a pair of "cloud cartographers" in this kickoff chapter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BERA THE ONE-HEADED TROLL by Eric Orchard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"An old-fashioned quest with a lovable protagonist. (Graphic fantasy. 7-14)"
One-headed troll Bera finds a human baby and resolves to get it to safety. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OVER MAYA DEAD BODY by Sandra Orchard
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 4, 2017

"Quicker than a nor'easter hitting a Cape Cod beachfront, romance swamps detection here, leaving the mystery buried deeper than a Mayan polychrome vase."
A wedding on Martha's Vineyard is spoiled by the death of the groom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOTHER DAY, ANOTHER DALI  by Sandra Orchard
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"Orchard (A Fool and His Monet, 2016, etc.) creates a likable, enviable heroine who knows art inside out but seems a tad short on common sense."
An art expert takes on a case of theft, forgery, and loopy family dynamics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENCHANTED PALACE by Rosie Banks
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Glitter, sparkles, tiaras and magic ahoy. (Unicorn Valley preview, Ellie character profile, character quiz) (Fantasy. 6-10)"
A trio of friends travel to a magical kingdom to save the day in a syrupy series opener. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MISSING SENSES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

Cover Story: Secret Message

BFF Charm: Big Sister

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: Real Talk

Bonus Factor: Friendships

Relationship Status: See You Later, Alligator

 

Cover Story: Secret Message

At first, I assumed that the Braille on the cover—side note: if the dots aren’t actually raised on the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

COLOR COMMENTARY
by Julie Danielson

I’ve always found it difficult to answer the what’s-your-favorite-color question, as the answer depends entirely on my mood. (I like deep blues for more contemplative times, but I need sunny yellow to help wake me in the mornings.)

Perhaps it’s even harder for artists to pick a favorite color. Is it like asking them to pick a favorite child? I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE A HEART SHARE A HEART by Eric  Telchin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2012

"Stick with Tana Hoban's books on shapes found in everyday locations. While obviously a passion for the photographer, few others are likely to be charmed by this offering. (author's note, picture notes) (Picture book. 3-6)"
After noticing a heart-shaped puddle of melted ice cream at a friend's party, Telchin began to see heart shapes everywhere and to take pictures of them with his phone. Here, he shares some of his diverse collection of photographic images of hearts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRANKIE PICKLE AND THE MATHEMATICAL MENACE by Eric Wight
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 26, 2011

"Ultimately, math teachers and parents might like this mildly amusing offering, but it just won't add up to much for many real-life Frankies. (Graphic hybrid. 7-10)"
Frankie Pickle, star of previous graphic-hybrid novels, is once again in, well, a pickle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA’S RECORDS by Eric  Velasquez
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2001

"Although we can't hear Grandma's song, this heart-felt story has a melody of its own. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-8)"
In his debut as an author, Velasquez, illustrator of The Sound That Jazz Makes (2000) tells an entertaining first-person story (presumably autobiographical) of an unnamed Puerto Rican boy in the '50s who spends every summer with his grandmother in Spanish Harlem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA AND ASHA by Eric Rohmann
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"Lest young readers think Asha is Clara's exclusive imaginary friend, an eager-looking crocodile comes to her window at the end, and Clara thinks, 'Can I help if I have so many friends?' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Asha is a giant fish, originally of the spitting marble-fountain variety, who flies up to Clara's bedroom window at night when she can't get to sleep. Read full book review >