Search Results: "Eric Pinder"


BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO SHARE WITH A BEAR by Eric Pinder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"Tender and charming. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Thomas makes a cozy cave that attracts a small bear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF ALL THE ANIMALS CAME INSIDE by Eric Pinder
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 17, 2012

"All the fun of imagination without the mess of reality. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A young boy imagines the riot that would ensue if his house were overrun with wild animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO BUILD A SNOW BEAR by Eric Pinder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A pleasant choice for a cozy read though not quite as sweet as the characters' first outing. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Bear and brother, introduced in How to Share with a Bear (2015), are back. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUT I DON’T WANT TO BE A MOVIE STAR by Margaret Pinder
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2006

"Although Katriona's physical transformation is far-fetched, Katriona's development into a likable character, a character with which teen readers can relate, is natural and believable. (Fiction. YA)"
Summering in tony Palm Desert, Calif., would agree with most people, but for skateboarder chick Katriona Shaw, who's stuck in paradise with her glamorous film-star grandmother, Noni, it couldn't be worse and her running acerbic commentary, which borders on whining, never lets readers forget it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"This catalog of major British kings, queens, wars, pivotal events and cultural milestones is unlikely to entertain—much less resonate with—American audiences. (index, royal timeline) (Nonfiction. 8-11)"
Fans of Terry Deary and Martin Brown's Horrible Histories and their ilk are unlikely to consider this latest imitation more than an also-ran. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

COLOR COMMENTARY
by Julie Danielson

I’ve always found it difficult to answer the what’s-your-favorite-color question, as the answer depends entirely on my mood. (I like deep blues for more contemplative times, but I need sunny yellow to help wake me in the mornings.)

Perhaps it’s even harder for artists to pick a favorite color. Is it like asking them to pick a favorite child? I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

COUNTING DOGS by Eric Barclay
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 2015

"A sense of fun, clear, uncluttered design, and construction that should hold up to heavy use make this board book's relatively high price well worth the extra expense. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A book bound in a box, with layered die-cut board pages within, introduces a variety of animals for young children to practice counting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT'S YOUR FAVORITE ANIMAL? by Eric Carle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 21, 2014

"This menagerie offers picture-book lovers of all ages a glimpse into each creator's style, personality and brand of humor. (biographies, photographs, websites) (Picture book. 4-8)"
Cause-related anthologies are challenging to do well, but this one (benefiting the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art) succeeds admirably—on multiple levels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADDY KETTLE by Eric Orchard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A sweet-mannered debut with plenty of lift, despite the abrupt and wide-open ending. (Graphic fantasy. 8-10)"
Intrepid young Maddy encounters goblins, flying whales, and allies ranging from a friendly vampire bat to a pair of "cloud cartographers" in this kickoff chapter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ARTIST WHO PAINTED A BLUE HORSE by Eric Carle
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Eye-catching fun. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This bright new entry by an old pro should find a place on the long shelf of picture books about animals and colors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A KITTEN TALE by Eric Rohmann
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 8, 2008

"A winner for a winter storytime, this is as amusing as watching real kittens romp. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Once there were four kittens who had never seen snow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TODAY IS MONDAY by Eric Carle
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 24, 1993

"Music included, but the song isn't sourced. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Carle's illustrations for this catchy, lighthearted cumulative song ("...today is Tuesday, Tuesday spaghetti, Monday string beans, All you hungry children Come and eat it up") originally appeared in 1977 as a frieze; they are even more welcome in this attractive book showing a porcupine eating the beans, an elephant slopping up Wednesday's "ZOOOOP," a cat snitching Thursday's roast beef, and so on. Read full book review >