Search Results: "Eric Schlosser"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 17, 2001

"An exemplary blend of polemic and journalism, guaranteed to put you off your lunch."
A tale full of sound, fury, and popping grease. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 5, 2003

"Three kinds of muck, raked by an adroit reporter."
The journalist who gave us the bestselling Fast Food Nation (2001) now investigates selected aspects of that nation's underground economy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"An exhaustive, unnerving examination of the illusory safety of atomic arms."
The chilling, concise history of America's precarious nuclear arsenal. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MISSING SENSES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

Cover Story: Secret Message

BFF Charm: Big Sister

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: Real Talk

Bonus Factor: Friendships

Relationship Status: See You Later, Alligator

 

Cover Story: Secret Message

At first, I assumed that the Braille on the cover—side note: if the dots aren’t actually raised on the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

COLOR COMMENTARY
by Julie Danielson

I’ve always found it difficult to answer the what’s-your-favorite-color question, as the answer depends entirely on my mood. (I like deep blues for more contemplative times, but I need sunny yellow to help wake me in the mornings.)

Perhaps it’s even harder for artists to pick a favorite color. Is it like asking them to pick a favorite child? I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

RUTABAGA THE ADVENTURE CHEF by Eric Colossal
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 24, 2015

"Colossal's debut outing is a cheerful if unexceptional popcorn read. (Graphic adventure. 8-11)"
In a land with dragons and other monsters, a happy-go-lucky chef can also be a hero. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN SEE JUST FINE by Eric Barclay
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"It's hard to judge intent, but even if this might provide lighthearted reassurance for young squinters, it's going to leave more observant parents and other caregivers disquieted, at best. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Repeatedly uttering the titular protest, a child is dragged off to "see" the eye doctor in this neatly drawn, too neatly resolved take on a common experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIDING PHIL by Eric Barclay
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"A slim story full of determination, problem-solving and pachyderm glee. (Picture book. 3-5)"
It's awfully hard to hide an elephant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2004

"The simple, thoughtfully told story includes repetitive phrases and a predictable structure with an emotionally satisfying ending as Mr. Seahorse sends his babies out into the watery world. (Picture book. 2-6)"
The striking single seahorse gracing the cover of this tribute to aquatic fatherhood could never be mistaken as anything other than one of Carle's consummately creative collage creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLIE THE WHEEL by Eric Chenn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Tales from 'Gingerbread Boy' to Deborah Lund's All Aboard the Dinotrain (April 2006), illustrated by Howard Fine, better celebrate the joys and sorrows of going mobile. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A wheel finds more fulfillment in work than in being a work of art in this rough-hewn tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FRIEND RABBIT by Eric Rohmann
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2001

"Young readers and pre-readers will chortle at the silliness of it all while enjoying the sometimes-demanding friendship between these disparately sized chums. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Best known for fluid, superbly realistic oil paintings, Rohmann (Prairie Train, 1999, etc) switches to thick-lined colored woodcuts and a simpler pictorial style for this nearly wordless, engagingly wacky episode. Read full book review >