Search Results: "Erin Bow"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SCORPION RULES by Erin Bow
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Slyly humorous, starkly thought-provoking, passionate, and compassionate—and impeccably written to boot: not to be missed. (Science fiction. 13 & up)"
Once there was war, until an artificial intelligence named Talis took over the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLAIN KATE by Erin Bow
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"A haunting, chilling (but never gory or graphic) tale with a fantastic girl at its center. (Fantasy. 10 & up)"
Bow's debut novel takes the stuff of Disney (spunky orphaned heroine and talking animal sidekick) and uses it to tell a surprisingly dark fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWAN RIDERS by Erin Bow
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Brilliant and compelling: don't miss this. (Science fiction. 13 & up)"
A girl, remade, might just remake the world. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ERIN ENTRADA KELLY
by Jessie Grearson

“All my novels begin with a picture of a character. Then I start asking him or her questions—my favorite being why,” says Erin Entrada Kelly, whose middle-grade novel Hello, Universe was released on March 14. The picture that came to Kelly for this novel was that of an introspective, quiet, and lonely 11-year-old boy sitting deep in a well ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ONE IS THE LONELIEST NUMBER
by Leila Roy

After Joselito and Julius scurried off—ever the helpful brothers—Virgil’s parents presented him like a rare exhibit they didn’t quite understand.
“This is Turtle,” his mother said.
That was their name for him: Turtle. Because he wouldn’t “come out of his shell.” Every time they said it, a piece of him broke.
Hello, Universe, by Erin Entrada Kelly ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YA DECEMBER 2016
by Leila Roy

Oh, December. Why must you be so cold, so dark, so withholding when it comes to new book releases? Sigh. Here are the two—I know, right? ONLY TWO!—that I’ve got my eye on:

The Secret of a Heart Note, by Stacey Lee

A contemporary romantic fantasy? IN DECEMBER? Yes, yes, yes, PLEASE. This sounds like EXACTLY what I need ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW IN MARCH 2017
by Leila Roy

There are HEAPS of books coming out this month, and I want to read a LOT of them.

Let’s take a look!

A Boy Called Bat, by Elana K. Arnold

I’ve already written about this treasure at length, but my love is such that I can’t let a single opportunity to recommend it pass me by. Buy it, read it ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CALLY'S WAY by Jane Bow
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 17, 2014

"A skillfully written novel, romantic yet tough-minded, in a beautiful setting."
In Bow's novel, a young Canadian woman confronts family history and future choices on the isle of Crete. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MUSUBI MURDER by Frankie Bow
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 12, 2015

"Molly's debut is a smart and welcome addition to the teaching-college-is-murder genre."
Murder complicates a college professor's already stressful life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Thane by Travis Daniel Bow
Released: June 1, 2014

"An adventure fantasy held together by a complex, compelling protagonist."
Bow's terrific debut YA novel takes readers into an action-packed fantasy world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

King's Table by Travis Daniel Bow
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 28, 2015

"Genre fans unperturbed by some sluggish moments will enjoy the brisk, daring, and complicated adventure."
Bow (Thane, 2015) offers Book 2 in his fantasy series about highly trained warriors and their quest through troubled times. Read full book review >