Search Results: "Erin Hart"


BOOK REVIEW

LAKE OF SORROWS by Erin Hart
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Myriad twists and turns juice the plot and deepen the atmosphere in Hart's moody second offering."
Bad things come in threes when pathologist Nora Gavin (Haunted Ground, 2003) is called to examine an ancient corpse buried in the peat at Loughnabrone Bog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF KILLOWEN by Erin Hart
Released: March 5, 2013

"Hart's foray into soggy Killowen has a rock-solid foundation of musical language and deft plotting."
Two bodies killed hundreds of years apart bring pathologist Nora Gavin (False Mermaid, 2010, etc.) and archaeologist Cormac Maguire to Killowen, home to an ancient order of scribes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALSE MERMAID by Erin Hart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2010

"Pinpoint plotting and sure sense of place make this tale a winner."
A forensic archaeologist returns home from Ireland in search of evidence that her brother-in-law was responsible for her sister's murder, long deemed unsolvable by local police. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAUNTED GROUND by Erin Hart
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2003

"Spooky and compelling: Hart's debut suspenser does for Galway what Sharyn McCrumb does for Appalachia."
The boggy shores of Lough Berg, in the wilds of West Ireland, yield up a host of crimes, past and present, for Dubliner Cormac Maguire and Irish-American Nora Gavin. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ERIN ENTRADA KELLY
by Jessie Grearson

“All my novels begin with a picture of a character. Then I start asking him or her questions—my favorite being why,” says Erin Entrada Kelly, whose middle-grade novel Hello, Universe was released on March 14. The picture that came to Kelly for this novel was that of an introspective, quiet, and lonely 11-year-old boy sitting deep in a well ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ONE IS THE LONELIEST NUMBER
by Leila Roy

After Joselito and Julius scurried off—ever the helpful brothers—Virgil’s parents presented him like a rare exhibit they didn’t quite understand.
“This is Turtle,” his mother said.
That was their name for him: Turtle. Because he wouldn’t “come out of his shell.” Every time they said it, a piece of him broke.
Hello, Universe, by Erin Entrada Kelly ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YA DECEMBER 2016
by Leila Roy

Oh, December. Why must you be so cold, so dark, so withholding when it comes to new book releases? Sigh. Here are the two—I know, right? ONLY TWO!—that I’ve got my eye on:

The Secret of a Heart Note, by Stacey Lee

A contemporary romantic fantasy? IN DECEMBER? Yes, yes, yes, PLEASE. This sounds like EXACTLY what I need ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW IN MARCH 2017
by Leila Roy

There are HEAPS of books coming out this month, and I want to read a LOT of them.

Let’s take a look!

A Boy Called Bat, by Elana K. Arnold

I’ve already written about this treasure at length, but my love is such that I can’t let a single opportunity to recommend it pass me by. Buy it, read it ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I DO NOT LIKE AL'S HAT by Erin McGill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2017

"Fans of quirky humor and hard-core rabbit lovers won't mind the arbitrariness of the ending, and the art is charming. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A magician's rabbit decides he's had his ears pulled one too many times. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECRETS OF THE BOOK by Erin Fry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Fry breaks no new ground, but she does provide undemanding entertainment for fantasy fans and history buffs. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
This mildly engaging fantasy features a magical book, famous figures from the past and a decidedly unheroic narrator who nevertheless manages (with some help) to save the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLLIE AND THE SCIENCE OF TREASURE HUNTING by Erin Dionne
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2014

"A well-choreographed romp starring an engaging protagonist who richly deserves his turn in the spotlight. (Thriller. 10-15)"
Former sidekick Ollie, whose legendary geocaching skills helped Moxie locate some stolen paintings in Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking (2013), takes center stage in this (literally) breathless thriller set in a Wilderness Scout camp on the Boston Harbor islands. Read full book review >