Search Results: "Erin Kelly"


BOOK REVIEW

THE POISON TREE by Erin Kelly
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2011

"A well-turned story that will linger in readers' minds."
British journalist Erin Kelly's debut suspense novel is a richly shaded work crammed with atmosphere, quirky characters and intricate plotting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROADCHURCH by Erin Kelly
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"Kelly (The Burning Air, 2013, etc.) folds a loving portrait of rural Dorset and a well-made whodunit into a painstaking account of the grief and unimaginable pain that follow in the wake of one child's murder."
Against all odds, Kelly's novelization of the eponymous British TV series, now being remade for U.S. television as Gracepoint, works as both a classic puzzle and an unnerving portrait of a little English town wracked by a young boy's murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HE SAID/SHE SAID by Erin Kelly
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 6, 2017

"Spellbinding."
A shocking crime and its aftermath—and the blurred line between guilt and innocence—propel Kelly's (The Burning Air, 2013, etc.) riveting new thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARK ROSE by Erin Kelly
Released: Feb. 6, 2012

"A solid psychological thriller that provides readers with a harrowing look into the violent pasts of a pair of characters who have everything to lose and know it."
A second novel from British journalist Kelly (The Poison Tree, 2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BURNING AIR by Erin Kelly
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2013

"A book that will consume the reader as fully as the bonfire set by the novel's characters."
Kelly has hit her stride in this third outing, a classic dark thriller combining suspense with gorgeous, evocative prose. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ERIN ENTRADA KELLY
by Jessie Grearson

“All my novels begin with a picture of a character. Then I start asking him or her questions—my favorite being why,” says Erin Entrada Kelly, whose middle-grade novel Hello, Universe was released on March 14. The picture that came to Kelly for this novel was that of an introspective, quiet, and lonely 11-year-old boy sitting deep in a well ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE QUIRKS IN CIRCUS QUIRKUS by Erin Soderberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"More episodic catastrophes without lasting consequences, in a tale that shares a premise with, but bears only a superficial resemblance to, Ingrid Law's brilliant Savvy (2008). (illustrations not seen) (Light fantasy. 8-10)"
A family with diverse magical powers gains a surprise ally in this sequel to Welcome to Normal (2013). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ONE IS THE LONELIEST NUMBER
by Leila Roy

After Joselito and Julius scurried off—ever the helpful brothers—Virgil’s parents presented him like a rare exhibit they didn’t quite understand.
“This is Turtle,” his mother said.
That was their name for him: Turtle. Because he wouldn’t “come out of his shell.” Every time they said it, a piece of him broke.
Hello, Universe, by Erin Entrada Kelly ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW IN MARCH 2017
by Leila Roy

There are HEAPS of books coming out this month, and I want to read a LOT of them.

Let’s take a look!

A Boy Called Bat, by Elana K. Arnold

I’ve already written about this treasure at length, but my love is such that I can’t let a single opportunity to recommend it pass me by. Buy it, read it ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKBIRD FLY by Erin Entrada Kelly
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 24, 2015

"Children's literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko—a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Apple Yengko has one possession from the Philippines—a Beatles cassette tape with her father's name written on it. She knows every song by heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WELCOME TO NORMAL by Erin Soderberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 4, 2013

"A cliffhanger ending isn't the only sour note in this series opener. (Fantasy. 8-10)"
Having hastily moved 26 times, the aptly named Quirks arrive in Normal, Mich., determined to blend in—a tall order as all but nearly 10-year-old Molly have magical abilities and underdeveloped senses of responsibility. Read full book review >