Search Results: "Ernest Jennings"


BOOK REVIEW

ERNEST by Wilson White
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"A wistful remembrance of what was and what might have been, though far more whimsical than the author himself might have demanded."
This madcap tribute to American novelist and short-story master Ernest Hemingway is a rambunctious mesh of reality and fantasy, a what-if romp both childish and charming. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER JENNINGS by Kate Darnton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"Evocative glimpses of a sorely missed class act."
A warm tribute to the Canadian high-school dropout who anchored ABC's World News Tonight for 22 years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ERNEST HEMINGWAY by Catherine Reef
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 1, 2009

"Accessible to young readers but most useful to teens as they begin to read Hemingway's greatest works. (source notes, bibliography, list of major works, picture credits) (Biography. 10 & up)"
Opening with a vivid description of bullfights in Pamplona, which Hemingway saw as "death struggle raised to an art," and concluding with Hemingway's own death struggle in 1961, Reef creates a memorable portrait of the writer and his times, and even readers too young for most of Hemingway's oeuvre will enjoy armchair traveling to the bullfights in Spain, fishing expeditions to the Dry Tortugas and the Marquesas Keys, big-game hunting on the Serengeti and covering the Spanish Civil War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: April 1, 1992

"Bibliography; b&w photos and index not seen. (Biography. 12-15)"
In tedious, anecdotal fashion, Lyttle delivers a broadside against Hemingway's Tough Guy image rather than discussing the relationship between his life and work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ERNEST HEMINGWAY by Mary V. Dearborn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 16, 2017

"A thorough, but familiar, portrait of a tormented artist."
The rise and fall of the Nobel Prize-winning writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GARY JENNINGS’ AZTEC RAGE by Robert Gleason
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 16, 2006

"If the Aztecs are enraged, it's because one of them read this improbable mess."
Answer "no" immediately if someone asks, "Would you like to know . . . about the men I have killed, the women I have loved, the fortunes I have made . . . and stolen?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1994

"Whether or not you buy into this version of the Gallo story, it's a family saga with all the makings of a television miniseries: adversity, intrigue, tragedy, manipulation, greed, and a slick presentation. (60 b&w photos, not seen)"
Though the Gallos' wines might repulse you and their reputation give you the willies, their autobiography is worth a look, if only to get another side of the picture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 29, 1967

"As Lillian Ross might have put it, Hem feller have heap big magic."
A lifetime selection of Hemingway's professional non-fiction as a reporter and columnist, this is a long-awaited book in the hardcover canon of the century's most imitated and most envied writer, and the man who built the tallest legend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 2, 1987

"Moments of interest, but luckiest are those who still have their copies of The First Forty-Nine."
What's most worthy in this hefty, three-part volume of still more Hemingway is that it contains (in its first section) all the stories that appeared together in the 1938 (and now out of print) The Fifth Column and the First Forty-Nine Stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LETTERS OF ERNEST HEMINGWAY by Ernest Hemingway
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 22, 2015

"A meticulously edited volume offering an unvarnished portrait."
The third volume of a projected 17-volume collection of Hemingway's letters covers three years during which the author rose to literary fame with the publication of The Sun Also Rises (1926), Torrents of Spring (1926), and the collection Men Without Women (1927).Read full book review >