Search Results: "Ernest Jennings"


BOOK REVIEW

THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEADLY 7 by Garth Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Muddled but fun, with a notably subversive premise. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
With help from seven loyal but decidedly iffy companions, 11-year-old Nelson sets out to rescue his kidnapped older sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAD BOYS by Ernest Hebert
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 10, 1993

"Commendable for its new (if not especially promising) direction, but a botch all the same."
Hebert has forsaken his Darby series of novels about rural New Hampshire (The Dogs of March, 1979; A Little More Than Kin, 1982, etc.)—and realism itself, for that matter—to journey among the cyberpunky ideas of virtual reality and road-novel fecklessness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"A thoughtful and fascinating account."
A well-crafted study of the treatment of the disabled in early American society. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NICK ADAMS STORIES by Ernest Hemingway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 17, 1972

"There are eight new stories constituting 40% of the book and extending its interest as unpublished rather than merely republished Hemingway."
A short preface by Philip Young explains the raison d'etre of this presentation of the Nick Adams stories which here are arranged chronologically and therefore provide a continuity — from child to adolescent to soldier to writer — and reveal the character developmentally. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SATISFIED WITH NOTHIN' by Ernest Hill
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"As subtle as a sledgehammer, Hill's polemical fiction, punctuated with lots of stilted speechmaking, is primarily addressed to black men—it's long on sociology and implied uplift, short on nuance or art."
Hill's odd first novel, previously self-published, can be read two ways: either as an advertisement for a Tony Brownstyle self- help black nationalism or as a cautionary tale on what happens when you see everything through the distorting lens of race. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MOVEABLE FEAST by Ernest Hemingway
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 1964

"There can be little doubt of its interest and attraction for many as a reprise of a now legendary time when Hemingway was young and happy and 'invulnerable,' and a place— well, 'There is never any ending to Paris."
What we've all been awaiting: the first of Hemingway's posthumous works he began in 1958 and finished in 1960. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN HILLS OF AFRICA by Ernest Hemingway
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1935

"Appearing in Scribners Magazine."
The Hemingway name will carry this beyond what the usual casual interest in reminiscences of hunting in Africa would ordinarily achieve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Too much puzzle-solving, not enough suspense."
Video-game players embrace the quest of a lifetime in a virtual world; screenwriter Cline's first novel is old wine in new bottles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE OLD AMERICAN by Ernest Hebert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 16, 2000

"A brilliant work, destined to be one of the great American historical novels."
The current resurgence of American historical fiction (Cold Mountain, Cloudsplitter, The Gates of the Alamo) reaches something very like an apex here, the first fiction in seven years from the critically acclaimed author of the Darby quintet (The Dogs of March, 1980, etc.) set in Hebert's native New Hampshire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 20, 1993

"Michel records his life in only perfunctory detail but still shows how strong the will to survive can be. (Sixteen pages of photographs)"
Personal testimony of a life of extremes, from Auschwitz horrors to American success. Read full book review >