Search Results: "Ernest Jennings"


BOOK REVIEW

THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

OPEN THE POD BAY DOOR
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Armada by Ernest Cline

Cover Story: Pew Pew Pew!

BFF Charm: Yay

Swoonworthy Scale: 3

Talky Talk: Space Crusaders

Bonus Factor: Mixtape

Relationship Status: Be My Wingman

 

Cover Story: Pew Pew Pew!

This cover is well-designed without pandering; it calls to mind ’80s video games without being too obvious. As you read, you find out ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

GUINEA DOG by Patrick Jennings
ANIMALS
Released: April 13, 2010

"The school characters are fairly one dimensional, but the undeniably funny plot moves along, and readers into beginning chapter books should enjoy this wry story of wish fulfillment. (Animal fantasy. 7-9)"
A humorous story about an unusual pet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAITH AND THE ELECTRIC DOGS by Patrick Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"A great read-aloud, y un libro perfecto! (glossary) (Fiction. 8-12)"
A joy—an original, uniquely funny first novel that is thought-provoking as well, from a witty ambassador of languages and cultures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNMENTIONABLE! by Paul Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1993

From a popular Australian writer, nine more stories in a follow-up to Uncanny! and Unreal! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNCOVERED! by Paul Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"Backward Step''), play off the array of puns, fecal jokes, and macabre plot twists; Jennings may shock adults, but his tales are guaranteed to delight less-practiced readers. (Short stories. 11- 13)"
The author of Unmentionable! (1993) and other unforgettable! collections offers nine more stories in the same outrageous vein. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NINE NAUGHTY KITTENS by Linda Jennings
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"The positive message and endearing conclusion that reunites the kittens with their mother make this book a winner for members of the learning-to-count set, and for cat-lovers, as well. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Nine Naughty Kittens (42 pp.; $14.95; Oct.; 1-888444-62-2) A rhyming counting book launches nine boisterous kittens on a mission to reunite their family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

2017 SOCIAL SECURITY GUIDE by Bob Jennings
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 21, 2017

"An accessible and helpful primer for those thinking about Social Security."
Jennings (Paid For, 2017, etc.) walks retirees through the federal social insurance program in this manual.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A JOURNEYMAN TO GRIEF by Maureen Jennings
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2007

"A surprisingly tender tale of slavery, addiction, violence and revenge served ice-cold. "
An interrupted 19th-century honeymoon ends 38 years later in a violent outburst. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAPTOR OF DELIVERANCE - BOOK 1 by Jennings Baxter
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 19, 2013

"H.P. Lovecraft aficionados will be impressed by the way Baxter joins widely disparate ideas into a coherent vision; a vision that is sure to appeal to fans of sci-fi, fantasy and the supernatural."
In the first installment of this fantasy trilogy, a young woman, who apparently experienced and forgot about mystical powers while under stress, slowly remembers a spiritual plane where the fate of humanity is being decided. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOODBYE MEXICO by Phillip Jennings
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 3, 2007

"Jennings is still no threat to Christopher Buckley, and he's a little too long-winded, but amusing."
The heroes from Jennings's whimsical 2005 Nam-A-Rama pop up in mid-1970s Mexico, where the president's life is on the line and the world's prostitutes have revolution on the brain. Read full book review >