Search Results: "Ernest Jennings"


BOOK REVIEW

THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEADLY 7 by Garth Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Muddled but fun, with a notably subversive premise. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
With help from seven loyal but decidedly iffy companions, 11-year-old Nelson sets out to rescue his kidnapped older sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUINEA DOG 3 by Patrick Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Youngsters will eagerly jump in for another fast, fun read. (Animal fantasy. 8-12)"
It's summer vacation, and in this third in the light-reading Guinea Dog series, Rufus' and Murph's families are taking their traditional trip to the lake, unusual guinea pigs included. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT STANDING IN MY FIELD by Patrick Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Humorous and insightful. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Ty Cutter is expected to live out his father's dreams of baseball glory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNREAL! by Paul Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"A companion volume, Uncanny, is being published simultaneously. (Short stories. 11-13)"
Australia's answer to Robert Munsch and Barry Polisar offers a collection of wacky tales, each featuring a ghost, a skeleton, or at least a twist of magic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LET LOOSE THE DOGS by Maureen Jennings
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"Not only the most generously plotted of Murdoch's four cases (Poor Tom is Cold, 2001, etc.), but the one whose constant reminders of mortality, via wounded dogs, chicks, and rats, are the most piercing."
The last time Acting Detective William Murdoch, of Toronto's Number Four Station, saw his father was in 1873, and to Murdoch, remembering the alcoholism and violent outbursts that led him to run away from home with his sister Susanna, the ensuing 22 years have not been long enough. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A useful introduction to some of the obstacles gay teachers face, but this subject merits much livelier treatment."
A book devoted to the experiences of lesbian and gay teachers and the innumerable pressures on them to remain closeted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"An outstanding supplement to the many conventional histories of the American Revolution, Jennings's history offers both an objective account of the conflict and challenging insights about historical distortion."
A detailed account of the less idealistic economic and political motivations that inspired the American Revolution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 3, 2008

"The down-and-dirty prose sounds a little affected coming from a guy who lives in Montclair, N.J., but there's no doubting the sincerity of Jennings's love for his kin and passion for country music."
A New York Times editor mingles memoir with music criticism in his first book, which connects classic country songs with his relatives' hardscrabble lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1969

"In 'The Denunciation,' a savage and ironic gallantry edges a man's betrayal of another as a spy. 'The Butterfly and the Tank' is a delicate round-about of various perceptions, tragicomic as is the central event dealing with a shooting in a bar. 'Night Before the Battle' is core Hemingway—the last hours of a doomed soldier talking, talking out his long night. 'Under the Ridge' projects the dark rigors of a world of men and war and one soldier's withdrawal into a defensive hatred. . . ."
Four previously uncollected short stories set in the dust and heat of the Spanish Civil War plus an out of print play, "The Fifth Column," written during Hemingway's tour in 1937-39—the stories an opportune reminder of Hemingway's astonishing skill in the days before his precision gave way to Papa's Great Posture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLANDS IN THE STREAM by Ernest Hemingway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 6, 1970

"There are moments of lyric concision, snatches of faultless description, a breathtakingly accurate re-enactment of a fisherman's ordeal, the old greatness glimmering now and again, all the more piercing, perhaps, when surrounded by so much that's stale and worn."
As seems increasingly apparent to most of us, Ernest Hemingway was richly endowed, but he spent his genius long before he died. Read full book review >