Search Results: "Ethan Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A grim murder-suicide story delivered with skill and verve."
Journalist Brown (Snitch: Informants, Cooperators, and the Corruption of Justice, 2007, etc.) tries his hand at true crime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2007

"A powerful case poorly argued."
Trading reduced sentences to drug criminals for information has utterly corrupted the American justice system, argues Brown (Queens Reigns Supreme: Fat Cat, 50 Cent, and the Rise of the Hip-Hop Hustler, 2005). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 6, 2005

"Imperfectly executed secret history of the hustlers and blood feuds that continue to inform gangster rap."
Bloody chronicle of the '80s-era cocaine hustlers of southeast Queens and their influence on the rap music industry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IN THE BAYOU by Ethan Brown
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Compulsively readable true crime provoking questions about policing, poverty, and the ritualized brutality of the rural South."
Grisly account of unsolved murders in a small Louisiana town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOPE AFTER FAITH by Jerry DeWitt
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 25, 2013

"For true believers only—in atheism, that is. Students of the business of religion will find only occasional pearls."
Middling account of an evangelical's 180, written with the assistance of co-author Brown (Shake the Devil Off: A True Story of the Murder that Rocked New Orleans, 2009, etc.). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! by Ethan Long
by Ethan Long, illustrated by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Though the book ends with the firm instruction to 'sleep tight,' its playful interactivity is rousing rather than soporific; best not to save it for just before bedtime. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Lightning may not strike twice in the same place, but Long comes close with this companion to Hi! (2015). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY BIG MOUSE by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 17, 2014

"Oddly sterile for a book that's all about love. (Picture book. 3-5)"
An end to the travails of being loved too much is negotiated like peace talks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CROAKY POKEY! by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2011

"A nice choice for school and home and a good choice for reluctant readers, full of energy, humor and fun. (Picture book. 3-6)"
As implied by the title, the Hokey Pokey takes on a decidedly amphibian tone in this sprightly, cheerful selection, which is filled to the brim with kid appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG CAT by Ethan Long
by Ethan Long, illustrated by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"Big Cat's expressive antics offer success for children just starting their reading journeys. (Early reader. 4-8)"
The patient and long-suffering orange tabby Big Cat is an ideal companion for beginning readers. Read full book review >