Search Results: "Eugene Linden"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 26, 2002

"No wild claims, but only 'credible stories of the ways . . . animals use their wits.' Draw your own conclusions, says Linden, and keep an open mind."
From an award-winning journalist (The Parrot's Lament, 1999, etc.), tantalizing conjecture about what lies behind the canny behavior of animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 21, 2011

"A well-rendered but disheartening tale of a life's work documenting the 'human and animal detritus left behind in the aftermath of the advancing armies of the consumer society.'"
A veteran journalist recalls his travels through the world's dwindling wild places. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"An above-average effort for a doomsayer."
Linden, a writer on science and technology for Time magazine, argues that we have been living in a period of stability that cannot last. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 7, 2006

"Although whole volumes have been devoted to each of the topics covered, this text provides a sound orientation to a controversial subject."
In this cautionary tale, journalist Linden lays out evidence that climate change is the culprit behind the demise of previous civilizations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"Animals are an indicator species, Linden suggests, so take a look: how we treat them reflects how we treat everything else."
Empathetic stories of animals displaying intelligence and fellow-feeling, with some references to controlled experiments to help put the acts in context, from journalist Linden, the author of several books on animal cognition as well as other subjects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EUGENE O'NEILL by Robert M. Dowling
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 28, 2014

"Although O'Neill claimed he was a 'tragic optimist,' Dowling's sympathetic, comprehensive portrait reveals a man beset by self-hatred and despair, struggling—and failing—to find salvation."
A portrait of a playwright inspired by suffering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EUGENE O'NEILL by Stephen A. Black
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

"O'Neill proves a fascinating, if morbid, traveling companion, and Black a capable and erudite cicerone. (40 illus.)"
Mourning may become Electra, but it served equally well for O'Neill, who, as Black (English/Simon Fraser Univ.) contends in this massive biography, worked through his personal tragedies by recasting them for the stage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EUGENE ONEGIN by Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1999

"A masterly performance, and a thoroughly charming book."
Eugene Onegin ($22.00; May 1; 224 pp.; 0-465-02093-3). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 30, 2004

"A worthy reexamination of the politician whom many remember fondly today—yet who is still likened to Harold Stassen as a born loser."
Thoughtful biography of the quintessential American liberal who, toward the end of his political career, was "challenging the very premises of the liberalism that he had himself championed." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EUGENE BULLARD by Craig Lloyd
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 1, 2000

"Reads as though the author had some other book in mind."
The remarkable exploits of the first African-American fighter pilot get lost in a rehash of Jazz Age name-dropping masquerading as biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON LINDEN SQUARE by Kate Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Pleasant but inconsequential. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Stella Mae loves to sit at her apartment-house window and watch her neighbors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINDEN TREE by Ellie Mathews
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2007

"For fans of Sarah, Plain and Tall. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Nine-year-old Katy Sue Hanson, an Iowa farm girl in 1948, is accustomed to the cycles of life and death, but nothing prepares her close-knit family for her mother's sudden death from meningitis. Read full book review >