Search Results: "Fen Montaigne"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

"Sobering, fact-based cautionary treatise on the quiet storm of climate change."
An online magazine writer witnesses the incremental damage of global warming firsthand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REELING IN RUSSIA by Fen Montaigne
NON-FICTION
Released: June 30, 1998

"The very stuff of footloose travel—strange companions, confounding situations, unexpected moments of fear and eye-popping wonder—told with a journalist's eye for detail. (Author tour)"
A quiet, evocative ramble through the Russian countryside by a former Philadelphia Inquirer Moscow bureau chief, who had made it his quest to fly-fish from the White Sea to Kamchatka and visit every Stalinist labor camp along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONTAIGNE by Philippe Desan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2017

"A dense work to be read in conjunction with the humanist's own eloquent writing."
Revisiting the public and private life of the extraordinary humanist in light of religious divisions of the 16th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SURVIVING GALERAS by Stanley Williams
NON-FICTION
Released: April 17, 2001

"Frightening and fascinating."
An expertly narrated account of natural mayhem, in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 3, 1989

A savvy, damning critique of the "predictable, inevitable [and] wasteful" ways in which the US stocks its defensive/offensive arsenal; from a professor of international relations at Canada's Carelton Univ. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIMI SAYS NO by Yih-Fen Chou
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Add this title to large collections; leave Mimi Loves to Mimic behind and hunt up Frank Asch's classic Just Like Daddy (1981) instead. (Picture book. 2-4)"
In this twinned salute to toddler traditions, one entry swims and the other flounders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORLEANS by Sherri L. Smith
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 7, 2013

"A harrowing and memorable ride. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Smith imagines a captivating and truly frightening future for the United States, one in which six devastating hurricanes follow Katrina's path right into the heart of the crippled Gulf Coast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEPRIVED OF UNHAPPINESS by Sam Pickering
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"These are all stories of the commonplace, but in Pickering's hands they rise like yeast, a chemistry of clever writing that teases oblique pleasure from the mundane."
More fine brushes with the rank and splendor of everyday life from Pickering (The Blue Caterpillar, 1997, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: March 15, 2012

"A quirky, variegated salute to what Aldous Huxley called 'a literary device for saying almost everything about almost anything.'"
Should essays be light and playful, hard and serious, or both? Some 50 experts on the form, ranging across 400 years, tackle the question in this odd volume, edited by Klaus, founding director of University of Iowa's Nonfiction Writing Program (The Made Up Self: Impersonation in the Personal Essay, 2010, etc.), and Stuckey-French (English/Florida State Univ.; The American Essay in the American Century, 2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 19, 2010

"A bright, genial and generous introduction to the master's methods."
Former Wellcome Library curator Bakewell (Creative Writing/City Univ. London; The English Dane: A Life of Jorgen Jorgenson, 2005, etc.) sketches the life of essayist Michel Eyquem de Montaigne (1533-1592) and traces his evolving reputation. Read full book review >