Search Results: "Fen Montaigne"


BOOK REVIEW

REELING IN RUSSIA by Fen Montaigne
NON-FICTION
Released: June 30, 1998

"The very stuff of footloose travel—strange companions, confounding situations, unexpected moments of fear and eye-popping wonder—told with a journalist's eye for detail. (Author tour)"
A quiet, evocative ramble through the Russian countryside by a former Philadelphia Inquirer Moscow bureau chief, who had made it his quest to fly-fish from the White Sea to Kamchatka and visit every Stalinist labor camp along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

"Sobering, fact-based cautionary treatise on the quiet storm of climate change."
An online magazine writer witnesses the incremental damage of global warming firsthand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SURVIVING GALERAS by Stanley Williams
NON-FICTION
Released: April 17, 2001

"Frightening and fascinating."
An expertly narrated account of natural mayhem, in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIMI SAYS NO by Yih-Fen Chou
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Add this title to large collections; leave Mimi Loves to Mimic behind and hunt up Frank Asch's classic Just Like Daddy (1981) instead. (Picture book. 2-4)"
In this twinned salute to toddler traditions, one entry swims and the other flounders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 3, 1989

A savvy, damning critique of the "predictable, inevitable [and] wasteful" ways in which the US stocks its defensive/offensive arsenal; from a professor of international relations at Canada's Carelton Univ. Read full book review >