Search Results: "Frances Hardinge"


BOOK REVIEW

CUCKOO SONG by Frances Hardinge
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2015

"Nuanced and intense, this painstakingly created tale mimics the Escher-like constructions of its villainous Architect, fooling the eyes and entangling the emotions of readers willing and able to enter into a world like no other. (Fantasy. 11-14)"
This dense and twisty fantasy set in post-World War I Great Britain mixes monstrous creatures, sibling rivalry, a supernatural doppelgänger, family dysfunction and a kidnapping into a complex brew of eerie atmosphere and unexpected events. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WELL WITCHED by Frances Hardinge
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2008

"Vivid and imaginative. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A fascinating premise, atmospheric description and a collection of quirky characters combine in this British import. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FACE LIKE GLASS by Frances Hardinge
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 10, 2017

"Madcap, mysterious, magical, and meaty: like Grandible's cheeses, this may cause visions—or just make your head explode (with delight). Don't miss it. (Fantasy. 10-adult)"
A new-old book from Hardinge (published in the U.K. in 2012 but only now arriving stateside) balancing wit and wonder with a dose of big thoughts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLY TRAP by Frances Hardinge
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 31, 2011

"Readers will be thrilled she again gives this winning trio a chance to show their better natures while surviving (often causing) trickery, betrayal, fires, riots and social upheaval. (Alternate world fantasy. 11-13)"
Another city unwittingly admits the forces of chaos and widespread panic through its gates in this doorstopper sequel to Fly by Night (2006). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST CONSPIRACY by Frances Hardinge
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"Brilliantly conceived, perfectly executed and utterly mesmerizing. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Hardinge knows the world of Gullstruck. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LIE TREE by Frances Hardinge
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 19, 2016

"Thematically rich, stylistically impressive, absolutely unforgettable. (Historical fantasy/horror. 12 & up)"
Mystery, magic, religion, and feminism swirl together in Hardinge's latest heady concoction, set amid the scientific ferment following the publication of The Origin of Species. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART TWO
by Leila Roy

Last week, I started my annual roundup of favorite books of the year with my standout reads from January to March.

Today, I’ll be looking at April through June.

Let’s jump right in!

April: The Lie Tree, by Frances Hardinge

While I don’t know if I’ve ever been able to name a NUMBER ONE FAVORITE BOOK of any given year ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW BOOKS I'M WATCHING FOR IN MAY 2017
by Leila Roy

Last week, I covered a few of the May YA romances I’m excited about—and last month, I covered Riley Redgate’s Noteworthy—but there are even MORE May books that I’m looking forward to!

Here are thirteen of them:

It's Not Like It's a Secret, by Misa Sugiura

Lots of things change for sixteen-year-old Sana Kiyohara when her father ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUESTEM by Frances Arrington
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2000

"Young readers will likely be impressed by how much responsibility the children easily assumed in the 'olden days,' but this novel is too bland to arouse much interest otherwise. (Fiction. 10-12)"
It's likely that only the most die-hard fans of the Little House books will appreciate this novel, set on the midwestern prairie in the 1870s. Read full book review >