Search Results: "Frankie Rose"


BOOK REVIEW

Raksha  by Frankie Rose
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 9, 2013

"An imaginative, gripping YA tale of love and violence."
Young-adult science fiction about a teenage warrior girl who escapes her dystopian society and goes on a mission to find herself. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

M.J. ROSE - LA MAGIE ET L’AMOUR
by Bobbi Dumas

If you’ve followed my writing/reviews/blog for any length of time, there are a few things you may have picked up about me and my preferred reading.

I love Paris. I love books set during WWI, WWII, and the interwar years. I love stories with a magical element. And I certainly like an interesting twist.

So it should come ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SUMMER RERUNS
by Julie Danielson

It may be that, here at my weekly Kirkus column, I’ve sung the praises many times before of French author Daniel Pennac’s The Rights of the Reader, originally published in 1992. This is to say that, if I’m being redundant, I apologize, but it is a wonderful book. To call it a guide to reading, which it actually is, makes ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO KITTY SUMMERTIME FUN by Frankie Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A cute, serviceable game. (Board book. 2-3)"
The iconic white cat enjoys the summer season. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ERAMANE by Frankie Ash
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 13, 2013

"This solid fantasy tale is well paced and well told, even if it misses some opportunities."
Eramane is stolen away by a dark force, only to find that it has a special role in mind for her.
Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MUSUBI MURDER by Frankie Bow
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 12, 2015

"Molly's debut is a smart and welcome addition to the teaching-college-is-murder genre."
Murder complicates a college professor's already stressful life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2004

"If what Saggio says is true, and there's little reason to believe it's not, readers are advised to think twice before their next flutter on an IPO."
An organized-crime figure specializes in financial shenanigans as intricate as any imaginable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEDTIME by Frankie Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 5, 2016

"A pleasant interactive outing. (Board book. 2-3)"
Little Ted prepares for bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALL IS HERE! by Frankie Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Use this simple, effective title with its companion or pair it with other seasonal offerings to explore autumn with babies and toddlers. (Board book. 6 mos-2) "
A brief introduction to the signature components of fall in temperate climates as discovered by a puppy, kitty, and squirrel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RED QUEEN DIES by Frankie Y. Bailey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"Bailey (Forty Acres and a Soggy Grave, 2011, etc.) has done better work."
Bailey's Future Lite procedural leads detectives through the past in search of a killer's motives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT THE FLY SAW by Frankie Y. Bailey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 3, 2015

"The distracting alternate future seems like the kind of thing that might have been dreamed up by someone writing about 2020 in 1970, not 2015. The plot is confusingly unrelated to the setting and is standard procedural fare, though a hook at the end portends better developments in the future."
A pseudo-futuristic world features two detectives investigating the death of a man no one had reason to kill. Read full book review >