Search Results: "Frederick Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 29, 2010

"A well-composed survey, but more summary than original interpretation."
A scholar of French literature and culture traces the troubling history of Catholic intolerance, xenophobia and anti-Semitism during the last decades of 19th-century France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZOLA by Frederick Brown
Released: May 1, 1995

Writing as much a history of late 19th century France as the life story of its most industrious novelist, Brown delivers a massive, old-fashioned biography of Zola. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMBRACE OF UNREASON by Frederick Brown
NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2014

"Read this illuminating book to see frightening similarities to the early years of the 21st century. The lies, innuendo, invented evidence and baseless arguments are all too familiar."
The author of Zola (1995) and Flaubert (2006) once again demonstrates his profound knowledge of French history, its people and their psyche. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLAUBERT by Frederick Brown
Released: April 4, 2006

"A profound look at an important French literary era, told with verve and wisdom."
Brown's exhaustive biography of the great French stylist is a natural companion to his smart, significant Zola (1995). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WAVELAND by Frederick Barthelme
Released: April 7, 2009

The Mississippi Gulf Coast in the aftermath of Katrina provides the backdrop for a man in hell, in Barthelme's latest novel (Elroy Nights, 2003, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SABBATICAL by Frederick Pinto
Released: July 6, 2012

"A surprisingly complex novel about music and self-evaluation."
A key player in the music industry finds himself ousted and forced to reconsider his place in the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCONE ISLAND by Frederick Ramsay
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"The latest mystery-thriller for Ike (Rogue, 2011, etc.) provides all the fast-paced action and danger readers have come to expect."
An eagerly awaited vacation on a quiet Maine island becomes a nightmare for a former CIA agent and his significant other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COPPER KETTLE by Frederick Ramsay
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Though this sort-of prequel to Ramsay's Ike Schwartz series (The Vulture, 2015, etc.) isn't much of a mystery, it's memorable for its powerful portrayal of the difficult lives of proud but poorly educated people too set in their ways to change."
A decorated World War I veteran returns to Buffalo Mountain, Virginia, dissatisfied with the life he finds there after he's seen Gay Paree and a whole lot more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POSTMODERN POOH by Frederick Crews
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"English majors, arise: Your field has been satirized, and well. Enjoy this in small doses, for it may be Crews's last Pooh, and you'll want to savor every semiotics joke that comes along."
A delightful sequel to the 1963 bestseller The Pooh Perplex that, like its predecessor, both skewers and synopsizes contemporary lit-crit approaches. Read full book review >