Search Results: "Frederick Kempe"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 1999

"He has expertly handled the history of modern Germany, and given us insights into the German soul, including his own, that are crucial for an understanding of our modern world."
A joy to read, in fact, a book so good one doesn—t want it to end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 17, 1992

"Timely."
A venture down the Ob River and into the heart of Siberia by Wall Street Journal Berlin bureau chief Kempe, who offers telling vignettes of a region now in flux but once as notorious for its climate as for its infamous history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2011

"A bit too long, but good journalistic history in the tradition of William L. Shirer and Barbara Tuchman."
A tale of missed opportunities just might have ended in nuclear war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK by Frederick Ndabaramiye
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"An awkwardly written but genuinely inspiring memoir of a disabled Rwandan educator."
A powerful Rwandan memoir of survival and transcendence, reduced to an oddly dry little book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK by Leo Lionni
Kirkus Star
illustrated by Leo Lionni, translated by Teresa Mlawer
Released: April 14, 1967

"The conclusion may disappoint children who expect something snappier but the medium mandates the message—an old stone wall in subtle striated shades bordering a flowering field; rotund mice with big expressive eyes; a golden brown harvest of nuts and wheat; the becomingly blushing Frederick bowing at the end—all evoked with Mr. Lionni's customary expertise."
Words sustain where substance fails —specifically, the "golden glow" of the sun, the colors of the summer countryside, recalled by Frederick, the sedentary mouse, who prepares for winter by gathering impressions while his cohorts are busy gathering supplies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARGERY KEMPE by Robert Glück
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 1994

"Numbingly frenzied, frustrated, and futile."
GlÅck pushes the envelope way too far as he attempts to use the history of a failed, would-be saint from the 15th century to explore his own romantic obsession in the 1990s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK DOUGLASS by Walter Dean Myers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2017

"A posthumous title of distinction from the multiaward-winning novelist, biographer, historian, and third National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. (timeline, bibliography) (Picture book/biography. 7-10)"
From slavery to anti-slavery activist—a life honored and remembered. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK DOUGLASS by David A. Adler
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 15, 2010

"An important resource, despite flaws. (timeline, source notes, bibliography, picture credits, index) (Nonfiction. 10 & up)"
Adler reports the life and times of the noted abolitionist in an attractive volume following an earlier treatment for younger readers (A Picture Book of Frederick Douglass, illustrated by Samuel Byrd, 1993). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"They certainly deserve better than this. (bibliography, index, notes) (Biography. 12+)"
A deeply flawed biography of the abolitionist leader points out the crying need for better sourcing and documentation in children's nonfiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK BILLINGS by Robin W. Winks
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 1991

"A balanced treatment, well researched, of a representative 19th-century figure caught up in the forces and movements of his time. (Sixteen b&w illustrations; five maps.)"
The well-told life and times of Frederick Billings (1823- 1890): Forty-Niner, attorney, railroad entrepreneur, philanthropist, and conservationist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK DOUGLASS by William S. McFeely
Released: Jan. 28, 1990

Univ. of Georgia history professor McFeely follows up his Pulitzer Prize-winning Grant (1981) with a more psychologically daunting and intriguing subject: Frederick Douglass (1818-1895), the fiery black orator and editor of the abolitionist newspaper North Star. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREDERICK FINCH, LOUDMOUTH by Tess Weaver
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 19, 2008

"Read this book with Frederick's brio and it will pay for itself. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Not that it doesn't have its charms, but Weaver's story about finding a calling is pretty silly. Read full book review >