Search Results: "Frederick Kempe"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 17, 1992

"Timely."
A venture down the Ob River and into the heart of Siberia by Wall Street Journal Berlin bureau chief Kempe, who offers telling vignettes of a region now in flux but once as notorious for its climate as for its infamous history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 1999

"He has expertly handled the history of modern Germany, and given us insights into the German soul, including his own, that are crucial for an understanding of our modern world."
A joy to read, in fact, a book so good one doesn—t want it to end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2011

"A bit too long, but good journalistic history in the tradition of William L. Shirer and Barbara Tuchman."
A tale of missed opportunities just might have ended in nuclear war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 1, 1997

"Readers will sense the real tragedy, however, of lives that were led outside the mainstream, and the despair connected with being so different. (b&w photos and illustrations, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
A sad collection of biographies of people who were regarded during their lifetimes as freaks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEX WARS 2084 by Frederick Beaudoin
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 17, 2014

"An imaginatively conceived tale of the future."
The latest chapter in an ongoing series set in a dystopian America in which the sexes are at war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WASTIES by Frederick Reuss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 21, 2002

"The largely academic riffs and worryings of a man humiliated by a dread inertia—but who still talk, talk, talks."
The elegant, sometimes amusing, but claustrophobic tale of an English prof who gets the "wasties," an illness that sounds, more than anything, like a grim, plain, crippling stroke. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HORACE AFOOT by Frederick Reuss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 17, 1997

"Still, his voice lingers, as do many of the scenes in this terse, moving exploration of modern anomie and the longing for—and fear of- -intimacy."
A wealthy, erudite, middle-aged loner in search of anonymity settles in the aptly named midwestern town of Oblivion and is swiftly drawn into the town's persistent local mysteries in this idiosyncratic, rather beguiling debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOB THE GAMBLER by Frederick Barthelme
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 16, 1997

"But the real payoff is straight-up and timeless: a novel of surprising heart and soul. (Author tour)"
Barthelme's latest exercise in existential pulse-taking (Painted Desert, 1995, etc.) focuses on the democratic vice of gambling, though it's less a study in addiction than a celebration of risk-taking and downward mobility. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORM by Frederick Buechner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

"A marvelous adaptation of Shakespeare—one of the best ever."
A wonderfully humane and satisfying meditative romance from the Presbyterian minister and veteran author (On the Road With the Archangel, 1997, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COSMOS POEMS by Frederick Seidel
Released: Jan. 1, 2000

"Unless a gravitational anomaly is likely to cause your coffee-table to float away into space, you aren't likely to need or want such an expensive tome."
This limited-edition collection of verse and pictures was commissioned by the American Museum of Natural History in New York to inaugurate and celebrate its new planetarium at the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON THE ROAD WITH THE ARCHANGEL by Frederick Buechner
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 1997

"A slight tale, though often quite charming."
A fable from one of the few writers of Christian fiction to publish in the mainstream press, more recently known for his ongoing spiritual autobiography, The Sacred Journey (1982), Now and Then (1983), and Telling Secrets (1991). Read full book review >