Search Results: "Frederick Woolverton"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"A solid multistep system for overcoming addiction."
A self-help therapy book aimed at stopping addictive behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER SIMPLE by Frederick Marryat
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 1998

"This is one of the most attractive and neglected early Victorian novels, and its selection alone bodes well for a very promising series."
paper 0-8050-5565-7 The enduring popularity of Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Maturin novels has fortuitously stimulated Norton's new Heart of Oak Sea Classics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOWBOARDING TO NIRVANA by Frederick Lenz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1997

"Lenz has written a comic masterpiece, whether he meant to or not."
Real-life snowboarder Lenz (Surfing the Himalayas, 1995) takes us, in what may be the most hilarious spiritual quest since Candide, on a most excellent pilgrimage through the mountains of Nepal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BROTHERS by Frederick Barthelme
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2001

"The final image of brotherly revenge is indelible, making this, Kirkus suggested, 'one of Barthelme's more haunting novels.'"
Barthelme's new publisher is returning to print some of his fiction, beginning with this, his novel from 1993, a tale of marital indiscretion and brotherly betrayal set in Biloxi, a familiar terrain in Barthelme's dark and contemporary social comedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITH EXTREME PREJUDICE by Frederick Barton
Released: Nov. 1, 1993

"Barton (The El Cholo Feeling Passes, 1985; Courting Pandemonium, 1986) a new momentum and a cumulative power that's surprisingly moving."
A year after his lawyer wife was killed in a car accident, a burglary in his house makes New Orleans film reviewer Mike Barnett wonder whether her death was really accidental. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 5, 1993

"He remains something of a cipher, recording but not reacting to the world through which he passes."
Uneven account of a 14-month-long exploration of the Gulf Coast as it arcs from the tourist traps of Key West to the temples of the Yucatan Peninsula. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROGUE by Frederick Ramsay
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2011

"Suspense builds slowly in Ike's fifth procedural (Choker, 2008, etc.). Its low-key charm particularly rewards readers already familiar with the characters."
A volatile small-town sheriff will stop at nothing to find the person responsible for putting his fiancé in a coma. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUESEED PRODIGY by Frederick Ford
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 23, 2013

"Lackluster action with an unrelenting ideological bent."
In Ford's debut political thriller, a coalition of anti-capitalist groups plots to destroy an offshore hub for foreign entrepreneurs and businessmen, thereby tightening their grip over world power. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRESDEN by Frederick Taylor
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"A sure-to-be controversial argument that the bombing of Dresden 'was not irrational, or pointless.'"
Was Dresden an innocent city smashed into dust by Allied perfidy Allies, as the Vonnegutian legend has it? Or was it a legitimate target? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Gourmets and gourmands alike will savor Kaufman's keen, caustic anatomy of the American palate."
A series of trenchant arguments about the consistency of Americans' feelings for food, our great common denominator. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2011

"A bit too long, but good journalistic history in the tradition of William L. Shirer and Barbara Tuchman."
A tale of missed opportunities just might have ended in nuclear war. Read full book review >