Search Results: "Frewin Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

THE FAERIE PATH by Frewin Jones
FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 2007

"The ending cleanly sets up a potential sequel for further adventures in the near future. (Fiction. 12+)"
All little girls with even an ounce of imagination have wondered what it would be like to have wings and be magical. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WARRIOR PRINCESS by Frewin Jones
FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

"Still, Branwen's adventures may beguile a few dull hours; the conclusion blatantly advertises that sequels are forthcoming. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
A reluctant heroine embraces her destiny in this bland historical fantasy as generic as its title. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Those who liked the first two books will find the conclusion satisfying; those who haven't read the previous books will miss the foundation, despite the prologue. (Fantasy. 12+)"
In this third installment of The Faerie Path series, modern London teen Anita has come to terms with the fact that she is really Tania, seventh daughter of King Oberon and Queen Titania, able to bridge the mortal world and that of the magical Faerie. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST QUEEN by Frewin Jones
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"And the cliffhanger ending will leave readers looking eagerly forward for the next volume in the series. (Fiction. 12-15)"
When last seen in The Faerie Path (February 2007), Anita Palmer had been whisked away from her home in modern-day London to the world of Faerie. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOLLY GODDARD JONES
by Megan Labrise

Holly Goddard Jones had written 100 pages of a horror story about killer ticks when she found out she was pregnant. Through her son’s first years and a second pregnancy, she wrote and rewrote The Salt Line, finishing final edits just one month before her daughter was born.

“Once I was dealing with motherhood and all the anxiety around it ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ALMA MATTERS
by David Rapp

American universities are bastions of knowledge, hotbeds of activism and academic politics, and a constant source of fascination for writers, who show them at their best and worst. Here are three books, reviewed by Kirkus Indie, that offer very different takes on the college experience.

Adrian Jones Pearson ’s satirical novel Cow Country (2014) presents rural Cow Eye Community College ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOW COULD YOU BE SO HEARTLESS
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones

Cover Story: Blurry Big Face
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 6
Talky Talk: Modern-Day Fairy Tale
Bonus Factors:
 Deal with the Devil, Portland
Anti-Bonus Factor: Patti Chase Award for Awful Parenting
Relationship Status: Summer Fling

Cover Story: Blurry Big Face

Aside from finding a cover model who ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE, TRIANGLE, FOX by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"What this and its companion lack in clarity of concepts, they make up for in character. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An exploration of colors, shapes and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY FOR WEATHER by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A plainspoken and effective introduction to the spectrum of weather patterns, with color identification as a bonus. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers learn the value of dressing properly for various weather conditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THROUGH KENNY'S EYES by Carol Jones
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 7, 2014

"Often meandering but emotionally rich nonetheless."
In this debut memoir, a husband and wife explore the unexpected spiritual opportunities that follow a terminal cancer diagnosis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK AND WHITE NIGHTY-NIGHT by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Easy, rhythmic text and appealing, high-contrast illustrations on sturdy board pages make this a sweet and suitable addition to lap-time programs or baby's nighttime routine. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A little owlet says goodnight to all the animals on the farm. Read full book review >