Search Results: "Gabriel Wyner"


BOOK REVIEW

FLUENT FOREVER by Gabriel Wyner
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A sensible approach that nonetheless requires a substantial commitment of time and energy; as the author well knows, there are no shortcuts to learning anything worthwhile."
The creator of the popular language-learning website Fluent-Forever.com debuts by putting between covers the essentials of the program that he and myriad others have found helpful. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, FIREFLY by Gabriel Alborozo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 2, 2015

"Charming artwork and some funny moments, marred by disingenuousness. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Nina learns that a firefly is a great night light—initially. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 1, 1999

"A pleasant addition to the Baltimore Museum's gift-shop offerings, perhaps, but this slight romance of two sisters in Paris when artistic ferment was at its height offers little real insight into collecting or the collectors. (16 pages b&w, 16 pages color photos, not seen)"
The story of how two spinster sisters from Baltimore acquired a remarkable collection of the sensual, avant-garde paintings of early 20th-century artists: Matisse, Picasso, Gauguin, and others. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 17, 2015

"The author is not much of a prose stylist, but he gives enough historical evidence to back the theory that political and social change are in the hands of activists willing to make a stand against conventional practices."
Thoughts on how "alternative institutions" could revamp American society. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WILD ROAD by Gabriel King
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 1, 1998

"Still, definitely deserving a look by fantasy-ailurophiles."
Young gray kitten Tag lives an easy housebound life with his ``dulls'' (people) until he's tempted to dash outside, where, distracted by a magpie, a fox, and a mysterious old one-eyed black cat named Majicou, he gets lost and must adopt the precarious life of a stray on east London's hard streets. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GRAVING DOCK by Gabriel Cohen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 15, 2007

"Cohen's second procedural believably captures the rhythms and interactions of a busy urban precinct. Everyman Jack, struggling to do the right thing, merits devotion."
A grim child murder, a crooked partner, a skittish fiancée: Detective Jack Leightner (Red Hook, 2001) is getting too old for this. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SELFIES by Gabriel  Gilbert
ROMANCE
Released: Aug. 23, 2017

"A racy guilty pleasure that should appeal to fans of Jackie Collins and Stuart Woods."
A couple's relationship becomes tested by secrets and lies from the past in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOTHER CENTURY OF WAR? by Gabriel Kolko
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"'The United States itself is now on war's front line—and it will remain there'—until unilateral military adventurism and skullduggery are replaced by a just, thoughtful political agenda, which, the author suggests, may be never."
An intelligent, if windy and repetitive, critique of US foreign policy and the pox it has brought upon the American people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 5, 2005

"One to avoid."
Would-be SF thriller posits H.G. Wells as having actually experienced the adventures he wrote about. Read full book review >