Search Results: "Gerald McIsaac"


BOOK REVIEW

BIRD FROM HELL by Gerald McIsaac
Released: Aug. 8, 2012

"McIsaac's writing may appeal to the Sasquatch believers, but it leaves open-minded nonbelievers with precious few facts to hang their hats on."
Author McIsaac relays stories from the Dene Nation about creatures they call spirits—and he calls pterodactyls—in an updated version of his debut nonfiction work.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY by Gerald McDermott
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2011

"This final volume in McDermott's sextet of trickster tales is as full of kid appeal and entertaining as the rest and, like them, will power many an energetic read-aloud. (Picture book/folktale. 5-10)"
Monkey wants some mangoes and Crocodile wants some monkey—and neither is about to give up in this traditional Indian trickster tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CREATION by Gerald McDermott
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Accessible to small children but resonant enough for older ones, reverent and magnificent. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-10)"
Decades of turning myth into gorgeously imaged picture books culminates in McDermott's powerful rendering of the creation story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEGEND OF THE KING by Gerald Morris
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Well done. (end note, cast list) (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Morris pulls off a spectacular conclusion to his humane and witty Squire's Tales series as destructive intrigues both provide a backdrop for a fan-pleasing reunion of favorite figures from past episodes and lead up to the final battle between Arthur and his brilliant, hideously warped son Mordred. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN CAMERA by Gerald Hammond
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 16, 1992

"Gunlore, kept below brain-glazing levels, is varied with livelier sailing-lore—but this time out, Hammond has come up with a zingy plot, nonstop action, and lots of interesting character interplay to produce a winner."
The author's Scottish hero, gunsmith Keith Calder (Home to Roost, etc.), finally hits a bull's-eye, in tandem with Detective Sergeant Ian Fellowes, his daughter Deborah's suitor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIN AIR by Gerald Hammond
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 13, 1994

"Of interest mainly, it would seem, to other alert gunsmiths."
It's no surprise that somebody has shot cantankerous Old Murdo Heminson, Sir Peter Hay's tenant farmer at Easter Coullie Farm. Read full book review >