Search Results: "Gerald McIsaac"


BOOK REVIEW

BIRD FROM HELL by Gerald McIsaac
Released: Aug. 8, 2012

"McIsaac's writing may appeal to the Sasquatch believers, but it leaves open-minded nonbelievers with precious few facts to hang their hats on."
Author McIsaac relays stories from the Dene Nation about creatures they call spirits—and he calls pterodactyls—in an updated version of his debut nonfiction work.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY by Gerald McDermott
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2011

"This final volume in McDermott's sextet of trickster tales is as full of kid appeal and entertaining as the rest and, like them, will power many an energetic read-aloud. (Picture book/folktale. 5-10)"
Monkey wants some mangoes and Crocodile wants some monkey—and neither is about to give up in this traditional Indian trickster tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CREATION by Gerald McDermott
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Accessible to small children but resonant enough for older ones, reverent and magnificent. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-10)"
Decades of turning myth into gorgeously imaged picture books culminates in McDermott's powerful rendering of the creation story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 23, 2004

"Still, this outing will appeal more to established fans already familiar with his Round Table crew. (afterword) (Fiction. 11-13)"
In the sixth, and grimmest, of Morris's Arthurian retellings, while seeking a certain knight who encouraged villagers to burn her mother and Jewish foster-father, young Sarah ultimately discovers that vengeance is an empty motive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 1, 1999

"Even Arthur and Guinevere make up in this engaging adventure, an ideal follow-up to the first book and just as full of characters who are brave, loyal, and admirably human. (Fiction. 12-14)"
This sequel to The Squire's Tale (1998) finds Morris's affable young hero, Terence, still serving the legendary Sir Gawain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM CRINGLE by Gerald Hausman
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Like Geraldine McCaughrean's Pirate's Son (1998), this grand mix of pulse-pounding action, vivid language, exotic locales, and colorful characters fits firmly in the tradition of Treasure Island. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A 13-year-old British midshipman logs seven months of rip-roaring nautical adventure, experiencing hurricane, shipwreck, fever, earthquake, kidnapping, sea fights, and plenty more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 3, 1989

One approaches a book on philanthropy guardedly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANNY WILL YOUR DOG BITE by Gerald Milnes
Released: Oct. 10, 1990

An attractive collection of 47 nonsense rhymes, riddles, and ballads collected in West Virginia, many (not all) either familiar or variants of the familiar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ILLEGAL TENDER by Gerald Hammond
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2001

"If this really is Hammond's final whodunit, he's quitting while he's ahead, with a cleverly plotted, lucidly written story, and a gently likable detective hero."
In what he declares will be his last mystery, the prolific Hammond moves Henry Fitts (Twice Bitten, 1999, etc.), who owns Three Oaks Kennels with his wife Isobel, into a starring role. Read full book review >