Search Results: "Gerdien van der Linden"


BOOK REVIEW

MONSTERSONG by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2007

"A refreshing alternative to, for instance, the well-worn Mercer Mayer chestnuts. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Displeased by his mother's highly unsatisfactory response to complaints of monsters under the bed, a child—rather, a piglet in the bright, loosely drawn pictures—takes matters into his own trotters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCE CHILD by Maranke Rinck
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 15, 2004

"His wish for a certain particular gift implies a gentle link with a famous fairy tale, but knowledge of that tale isn't necessary for enjoyment of this lovely piece. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Rich paintings tell the thoughtful tale of animals preparing for the prince's party. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT WILL WE CHOOSE? by Elly van der Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Toddlers are better served by actual conversations. (Picture book. 2-4)"
This guessing game book has almost too many choices for young children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE OTHER RABBIT by Maranke Rinck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"An idyllic picture, with a subtle bit of subtext for discussion if desired. (Picture book. 6-8)"
In search of his missing companion, a rabbit has to travel a long way and even face a dragon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I FEEL A FOOT! by Maranke Rinck
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"A winner. (Note: Publisher will be releasing a tactile edition for the blind.) (Picture book. 2-5)"
In this retelling of the familiar Sufi tale, a group of small animals meets a big new friend, one body part at a time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOR YOU AND NO ONE ELSE by Edward van de Vendel
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"The expressive black-ink drawings tell most of the story, and since the grass-green text easily fades into the background, one can't help but think of the spare power this might have had as a wordless work. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Originally published in the Netherlands, this gifty little number follows Buck, a kindhearted deer who happens upon a "curiosity"—a seven-leaf clover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON LINDEN SQUARE by Kate Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Pleasant but inconsequential. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Stella Mae loves to sit at her apartment-house window and watch her neighbors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 28, 2016

"The author's vivid details of South Africa's persistent racism, abject poverty, and continuing oppression are undermined by unnecessary repetition."
Unraveling a web of evidence in a notorious murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINDEN TREE by Ellie Mathews
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2007

"For fans of Sarah, Plain and Tall. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Nine-year-old Katy Sue Hanson, an Iowa farm girl in 1948, is accustomed to the cycles of life and death, but nothing prepares her close-knit family for her mother's sudden death from meningitis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAMING THE BEAST by Katinka van der Merwe
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 13, 2013

"A useful guidebook on fibromyalgia that encourages sufferers to explore nontraditional treatments."
A chiropractic physician offers a holistic approach to understanding and managing fibromyalgia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOOD NAZI by Dan van der Vat
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 21, 1997

"Writing with irony and intelligence, van der Vat forces us to confront Speer anew. (22 b&w photos, not seen)"
The best biography yet on the self-described ``second man in the Reich.'' Albert Speer has long occupied a singular niche in history: that of the ``good Nazi,'' a decent and civilized man whose first love was architecture and who wished nothing more than to rebuild Germany from the misery of WW I and the worldwide depression of the 1930s. Read full book review >