Search Results: "Gernot Wagner"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 5, 2011

"Great plans, but do the economists have an army?"
Let economists rule and the earth be spared. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLIMATE SHOCK by Gernot Wagner
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2015

"Specialized and a touch rarified but useful for policy workers in helping shape dollars-and-cents arguments about the environment and global climate."
"Most everything we know tells us climate change is bad. Most everything we don't know tells us it's probably much worse." So observe Environmental Defense Fund economist Wagner (But Will the Planet Notice?: How Smart Economics Can Save the World, 2011, etc.) and Weitzman (Economics/Harvard Univ.; Income, Wealth, and the Maximum Principle, 2003, etc.) in this dismal-science look at a very dismal subject indeed.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOZART AND POSTERITY by Gernot Gruber
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1994

"Fortunately, Mozart prevails."
In spite of the sprightly tone, this translation of Gruber's study of Mozart's reception, reputation, and influence, mostly in Germany, is narrow, heavy-handed, and repetitive, lacking the interdisciplinary range and critical sophistication promised by the publisher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEIZURE by Erica Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2007

"Wagner's clean, sturdy prose imparts an inevitability to what is taboo, but some gratuitous mystification prevents a complete surrender to her spell."
The elemental passions of two siblings fuel this first novel, whose contemporary trappings fall away to reveal a fable outside time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMPTY CHAIR by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 26, 2013

"Wagner meditates on our fundamental cravings for connections—both human and divine—and meanings—both personal and cosmic—with wit, compassion and a sharp eye for the lies we tell ourselves."
Casting himself as a story collector, Wagner links two novellas, two narratives separated in time yet bound by a common motif: the empty chair, where loss, grief and death are seated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ASSASSIN by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The ending satisfies, but there are some definite loose ends. Look forward to more adventures in Nightshade City. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORCE MAJEURE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"Richly done boffo winner."
Smashing debut novel in which screenwriter Bud Wiggin, a Thomas Wolfe for failed screenwriters, seems to be a stand-in for author Wagner—screenwriter of the stupid but successful Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills and Nightmare on Elm Street 3. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Conquest Defiled by Robert Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 2013

"A tale of war, love and religious strife by a promising new novelist."
A young man struggles against family, church and state to find love and a life of his own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2009

"Unflinching, humorous and heartfelt."
Print and public-radio journalist Wagner describes rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRYSANTHEMUM PALACE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Smart, high-gloss slur of fame, drugs and the fateful weight of family."
A recovering addict, an egomaniacal actor with daddy issues, and an underperforming wannabe make for a particularly LA dysfunctional trio. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I MET SOMEONE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2016

"The ravings of a writer who is either on drugs or off his meds."
A novel of contemporary Hollywood, featuring dozens of real celebrities and a few invented ones. Read full book review >