Search Results: "Gerti Elias"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 19, 2011

"For readers of Anne Frank's diary—namely, nearly everyone—this is a moving amplification on her too-brief life."
Heart-rending documents of Anne Frank's family, both before and after the devastating events of the war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTES FROM HAMPSTEAD by Elias Canetti
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"But the few will be grateful for Canetti's book and for Hargraves's exacting translation of it."
A Nobel Prize winner illuminates topics ranging from death and great writers to religion and myth, ethnicity and creativity, and much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"Or, maybe, like most diaries and notebooks, this is just one writer's chaff and should be treated as such."
This collection of fragments by Nobel Prizewinner Canetti raises the vexing question: Is an aphorism merely the printed analogue of a sound bite? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 7, 2011

"Most readers already realize that online personas are often different from those in real life, but Aboujaoude offers a unique psychiatrist's perspective and an urgent wake-up call for those still in the dark."
A psychiatrist who specializes in obsessive-compulsive disorders argues persuasively that the Internet can be hazardous to our mental health. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DANSE MACABRE by Gerald Elias
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 7, 2010

"A scrambled plot with far too many references to Jacobus's debut, but there are riveting insights into violin bowing, maestros' mannerisms and the interpretation of musical scores."
Two maestros, one dead and one about to be. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH AND TRANSFIGURATION by Gerald Elias
Released: June 19, 2012

"Who could resist an insider's view of Tanglewood, an analysis of Turner's art and a dog who knows when his slobber is not appreciated? Elias (Death and the Maiden, 2011, etc.) has a nose for creative detail and a refreshing impatience with pomposity. Indulge yourself in his artfulness."
Is artistic temperament a justification for murder? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2008

"Aboujaoude is obviously proud of his work—and he should be—but his skills as a writer are seriously lacking."
Sketchy profiles of obsessive-compulsive patients, from the director of Stanford's Impulse Control Disorders Clinic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"The pain of cultural and sexual alienation is vividly described, and Rosita, in particular, is an engaging protagonist, but the novel itself is too bitty, too brief, for the really big themes it suggests."
A celebration of friendship on the margins is the theme of Cuban-born Mu§oz's first novel in English. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YALO by Elias Khoury
by Elias Khoury, translated by Peter Theroux
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Khoury's unsparing portrayal of a man without a country, a history or even an identity dominates this deceptively intricate novel."
The "confession" of an ingenuous, conflicted foot soldier in Lebanon's recent (1975-90) civil war forms the complex subject of this 2002 novel from that country's internationally acclaimed author (Gate of the Sun, 2006, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GATE OF THE SUN by Elias Khoury
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"Well received internationally—not least in Israel—Khoury's novel reports events little known outside Palestine, woven into an elaborate but effective structure."
Absorbing epic of the Palestinian people. Read full book review >