Search Results: "Gideon Rose"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 12, 2010

"Essential reading for national policymakers."
Foreign Affairs editor Rose (co-editor: Understanding the War on Terror, 2005, etc.) finds that American military conflicts of the past century have often ended badly. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

M.J. ROSE - LA MAGIE ET L’AMOUR
by Bobbi Dumas

If you’ve followed my writing/reviews/blog for any length of time, there are a few things you may have picked up about me and my preferred reading.

I love Paris. I love books set during WWI, WWII, and the interwar years. I love stories with a magical element. And I certainly like an interesting twist.

So it should come ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SUMMER RERUNS
by Julie Danielson

It may be that, here at my weekly Kirkus column, I’ve sung the praises many times before of French author Daniel Pennac’s The Rights of the Reader, originally published in 1992. This is to say that, if I’m being redundant, I apologize, but it is a wonderful book. To call it a guide to reading, which it actually is, makes ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAP THAT BREATHED by Melanie Gideon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"The author leaves plenty of room for sequels, and repeat visits to Greenwater will be welcome—preferably without all the contrivance and excess thematic baggage. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A hodgepodge tale of parallel worlds and travelers between them features children with hidden pasts and abilities, a soul-sucking monster, inscrutable alien devices from who-knows-where, a plot laced with coincidences—and signs of a lively authorial imagination that can't keep this overstuffed debut afloat, but bodes well for future work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2017

"A sage, forward-seeing study to be heeded."
A focused delineation of the shifting center of gravity toward Asia and the need for a strenuous Western response without losing global primacy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1998

Another celebration of Israel's 50th birthday: a detailed, persuasive, well-illustrated survey of art produced in Israel over the past hundred years, focusing more particularly on the period from the 1940s to the present. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PIRATES! IN AN ADVENTURE WITH SCIENTISTS by Gideon Defoe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 19, 2004

"Completely juvenile and thoroughly enchanting."
Silly and very droll debut by a London paleontologist who likes pirates and has obviously grown up on old Monty Python reruns. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 4, 2010

"A stimulating read for the philosophically minded, especially for abstract thinkers and those stout with intellect."
The human condition is beset by two sensations of spiritual and emotional oneness; Tolkowsky believes he has demystified the link between them—and the meaning of life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VALLEY OF THE MOON by Melanie Gideon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 26, 2016

"An enjoyable magic carpet ride back to an earlier time and a gentler place."
Two narrators, separated by nearly a century, tell a tale of old-time charm and contemporary agita. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: July 25, 2013

"A complex but clearly written account of abstract scientific theory recommended for readers interested in new realms of thought."
In his absorbing, informative collection of essays, Tolkowsky (Homage to Stretcher Bearer, 2009) examines the connection between technology and metaphysics, focusing specifically on the history of flight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WIFE 22 by Melanie Gideon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 29, 2012

"By the end, Alice becomes downright unattractive, undeserving of the happiness that the genre typically grants. Nevertheless, women of a certain age will find her escapades breezy fun, especially since the William character is blatantly intended to bring Colin Firth to mind."
A domestic romantic fantasy for maturing but computer-savvy Bridget Jones fans, Gideon's first adult novel (The Slippery Year, 2009) concerns a wife torn between her uncommunicative, grumpy husband and the charming stranger she flirts with online. Read full book review >