Search Results: "Giles Andreae"


BOOK REVIEW

MY LITTLE WORLD OF HAPPY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"While little ones may find the packaging gimmick appealing, the content inside is empty. (Board book. 2-4)"
This boxed set of nine minibooks explores the emotional lives of nine different animals in miniscule print. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WORLD OF HAPPY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"Despite the positivity, much of the sentiment and imagery will go over the heads of babies and toddlers. (Board book. 2-3)"
Six little books in a boxed set promote an optimistic view of the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS A HANDFUL OF HONEY by Giles Andreae
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"Cabban's illustrations show the little bear's world as a secure, happy place—just the kind of home where love abounds. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A little bear's day is filled with love—big, small, buzzing, wet, and sweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMMOTION IN THE OCEAN by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Otherwise, this British import is ordinary and often amateurish. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The round glass of a submarine porthole provides a window through which the animals of the ocean can be spied upon in all their "commotion." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOMMY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 22, 2011

"The large format and warm tone make this truly perfect for little ones. (Picture book. 0-3)"
Andreae and Dodd team up to create a winning read-aloud for the very young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Young readers will give this a perfunctory once-over at best; set them instead on a course for the more seaworthy likes of Deb Lund's Dinosailors (2003), illustrated by Howard Fine. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The creators of Captain Flinn and the Pirate Dinosaurs (2005) again chuck lots of promising elements together—evidently in hopes that they'll assemble themselves into an exciting, or at least coherent, yarn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINOSAURS GALORE! by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2005

"Ichthyosaurus') Next to the likes of Kevin Crotty's Dinosongs (2000), illustrated by Kurt Vargo, or Jack Prelutsky's classic Tyrannosaurus Was A Beast (1988), illustrated by Arnold Lobel, there's not much here to roar about. (Picture book/poetry. 7-9)"
A dozen familiar dinosaurs introduce themselves in verse in this uninspired, if colorful, new animal gallery from the authors of Commotion in the Ocean (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY DADDY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 17, 2012

"While odes on the wonderfulness of dads are plentiful, this stands out for its spot-on execution and colorful charm. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Andreae and Dodd team up again (I Love My Mommy, 2011) to create a sweet look at all the fun a round-faced toddler and daddy experience together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUSTLE IN THE BUSHES by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"With little specific factual information provided or individual personality developed, there is nothing here to separate one backyard inhabitant from the next. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Underdeveloped rhymes describe the "minibeasts" that live in a garden. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THERE’S A HOUSE INSIDE MY MOMMY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"A sparkling celebration of a wondrous event. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A tot's wide-eyed anticipation of the arrival of his sibling is the focus of this gently humorous tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, BABY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"For new siblings who are pretty solid in knowing their body parts. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Andreae and Dodd continue to explore family relationships (I Love My Mommy, 2011; I Love My Daddy, 2012) with this look at the towheaded toddler's love for his new sibling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC ANIMAL JAMBOREE by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"This is just what it should be—a little learning and a lot of breezy fun. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Bouncy animal rhymes from Angelfish to Zebra. Read full book review >