Search Results: "Giles Andreae"


BOOK REVIEW

WORLD OF HAPPY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"Despite the positivity, much of the sentiment and imagery will go over the heads of babies and toddlers. (Board book. 2-3)"
Six little books in a boxed set promote an optimistic view of the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS A HANDFUL OF HONEY by Giles Andreae
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"Cabban's illustrations show the little bear's world as a secure, happy place—just the kind of home where love abounds. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A little bear's day is filled with love—big, small, buzzing, wet, and sweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMMOTION IN THE OCEAN by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Otherwise, this British import is ordinary and often amateurish. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The round glass of a submarine porthole provides a window through which the animals of the ocean can be spied upon in all their "commotion." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOMMY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 22, 2011

"The large format and warm tone make this truly perfect for little ones. (Picture book. 0-3)"
Andreae and Dodd team up to create a winning read-aloud for the very young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Young readers will give this a perfunctory once-over at best; set them instead on a course for the more seaworthy likes of Deb Lund's Dinosailors (2003), illustrated by Howard Fine. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The creators of Captain Flinn and the Pirate Dinosaurs (2005) again chuck lots of promising elements together—evidently in hopes that they'll assemble themselves into an exciting, or at least coherent, yarn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, BABY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"For new siblings who are pretty solid in knowing their body parts. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Andreae and Dodd continue to explore family relationships (I Love My Mommy, 2011; I Love My Daddy, 2012) with this look at the towheaded toddler's love for his new sibling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC ANIMAL JAMBOREE by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"This is just what it should be—a little learning and a lot of breezy fun. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Bouncy animal rhymes from Angelfish to Zebra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAPTAIN FLINN AND THE PIRATE DINOSAURS by Giles Andreae
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"The pirate theme, the riotous art and the jagged-toothed, drooling dinosaurs will make this a sure hit with Me Hardies of all stripes. (Picture book. 4-7)"
While drawing dinosaurs at school, Flinn discovers he doesn't have enough markers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY GRANDSON IS A GENIUS! by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Who would not rather call it affection? (Picture book. 3-6)"
This modest, rhymed charmer from Andreae ought to find a market with a good number of vainglorious grandfathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRAFFES CAN’T DANCE by Giles Andreae
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"Gerald doesn't find himself; he simply learns how to mimic. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Andreae's ode to a different drummer stumbles when it preaches about uncovering your own beat, but is ferried along by enough sweet verse and Parker-Rees's dazzling colors that it almost pulls its own weight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BE BRAVE, LITTLE PENGUIN by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 26, 2017

"Andreae and Parker-Rees team up once again for another zoological confidence booster. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A tiny penguin is afraid of the water. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LITTLE WORLD OF HAPPY by Giles Andreae
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"While little ones may find the packaging gimmick appealing, the content inside is empty. (Board book. 2-4)"
This boxed set of nine minibooks explores the emotional lives of nine different animals in miniscule print. Read full book review >