Search Results: "Gin Phillips"


BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDDEN SUMMER by Gin Phillips
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2013

"A satisfying psychological journey. (Fiction. 10-15)"
A muted fairy-tale-like story about two 12-year-old girls who spend their summer days at an abandoned mini-golf course. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COME IN AND COVER ME by Gin Phillips
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 12, 2012

"This uneven second novel offers fine details and character study, but it occasionally falls prey to overly ambitious plotting."
After the well-received The Well and the Mine (2009), Phillips' second novel tackles ghosts, both real and metaphorical, on an archaeological dig in New Mexico. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A LITTLE BIT OF SPECTACULAR by Gin Phillips
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"Although the story could use more dramatic pull, readers should enjoy its sympathetic protagonist and offbeat mystery element. (Fiction. 9-13)"
An enigmatic message on a bathroom wall intrigues a lonely 11-year-old girl who decides to investigate, making a friend in the process. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIERCE KINGDOM by Gin Phillips
Released: July 11, 2017

"Poignant and profound, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will shatter readers like a bullet through bone."
A deadly game of hide-and-seek is set inside a darkened menagerie. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GIN PHILLIPS
by Megan Labrise

Gin Phillips had no intention of writing summer’s most scintillating literary thriller.

“I wanted to write a book about motherhood,” Phillips says of Fierce Kingdom, the story of a mother and four-year-old son trapped in their local zoo by an active shooter event.

“I was aware it was a faster plot than I normally focus on,” she says ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Suddenly Spying by Gin Mackey
FICTION & LITERATURE

"A breezy novel that delivers an appealing, down-to-earth heroine dabbling in espionage."
A woman may be putting herself in jeopardy when she becomes an amateur spy to help her secret agent sister in Mackey's debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON EDGE by Gin Price
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 2, 2016

"Intriguing characters, a different take on an urban landscape, and the element of mystery will captivate readers. (Mystery. 12-18)"
The closing of two high schools results in strife between rival gangs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DISAPPEAR OUR DEAD by Gin Mackey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 23, 2016

"Goes beyond a cozy, small-town mystery to consider some immense and difficult matters."
A widow's efforts to become a home-funeral guide entangle her in a murder case in this novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAMNED NATION by Kathryn Gin Lum
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"An elucidating study of why hell continued to matter in early America."
Religion scholar Gin Lum (Religious Studies/Stanford Univ.) delves into the writings and memoirs of early Americans deeply concerned with the issues of hell and salvation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERE WHERE THE SUNBEAMS ARE GREEN by Helen Phillips
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"More fantasy than magical realism, this eco-adventure maintains its mystery and suspense right up to the end. (Adventure. 9-13)"
When Madeleine and Ruby visit the supergreen rain-forest resort where their ornithologist father has been employed to find endangered species, they find him distressingly changed—and maybe contributing to a bird's extinction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHLOE DOE by Suzanne Phillips
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2007

"This hard look at one life in a lockdown facility may appeal to fans of Adam Rapp and Ellen Hopkins. (Fiction. YA)"
"Doe" is the last name Chloe has adopted for herself, a label of anonymity that separates her from her mother and her mother's string of worthless boyfriends. Read full book review >